Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (108th Issue, July 2015) – Incident in Focus

Health Benefits of Fish Consumption

Reported by Mr. Johnny CHU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

In June 2015, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) announced the results of a risk assessment study on non-dioxin-like polychlorinated biphenyls (NDL-PCBs) including that relatively low levels of this group of chemical contaminants are more likely to be found in fish. The issue sparked the concerns of the public on eating fish, especially salmon. However, international and CFS studies have found that the benefits of consuming a variety of fish including salmon, mandarin fish and yellow croaker clearly outweigh the risks presented by current levels of contaminants in fish. This article discusses the benefits and risks of fish consumption, in particular, for women of child-bearing age and young children.

Health Benefits

Fish is an excellent source of high quality proteins and omega-3 fatty acids. It also contributes to the intake of nutrients, such as iodine, selenium, calcium, iron and vitamins A and D. Omega-3 fatty acids such as DHA (docosahexaenoic acid) and EPA (eicosapentaenoic acid) are found in every kind of fish, but are especially high in fatty fish (e.g. salmon and yellow croaker) (see Table 1).

Amount of DHA and EPA and NDL-PCBs in some fish available in Hong Kong

Omega-3 fatty acids help lower the risk of coronary heart disease and stroke, and are important for foetal neurological development. While calcium and vitamin D are important in developing healthy teeth and bones, iodine is needed for the production of thyroid hormones. A deficiency of iodine in the diet is associated with the development of goitre and arrested growth.

Health Risks

Fish is also a source of exposure to contaminants like dioxins, PCBs and mercury. However, previous CFS studies have confirmed that it is unlikely for the local population to experience, through the consumption of food, undesirable health effects of dioxins and PCBs, including NDL-PCBs. In addition, many overseas studies have reported a reduction in the level of these contaminants in fish over the years.

Methylmercury is the organic form of mercury and can adversely affect the nervous system in the developing foetus. Studies have shown that some predatory fish species may contain high methylmercury levels which are therefore a concern for women of child-bearing age. Besides, young children whose brains are still developing may be more susceptible than adults to the adverse effects of methylmercury, which include a reduction in intelligence quotient (IQ).

Opinions and Advice from Other Health Authorities

Food and Agriculture Organization and the World Health Organization

When comparing the benefits of omega-3 fatty acids with the risks of methylmercury among women of child-bearing age, maternal fish consumption, in general, lowers the risk of suboptimal neurodevelopment in their offspring compared with the offspring of women not eating fish.

European Food Safety Authority

Recently, the European Food Safety Authority has reported that consumption of 1-2 up to 3-4 servings (equivalent to 150-600 grammes) per week of seafood including fish during pregnancy is associated with better functional outcomes of neurodevelopment in children compared to no consumption of seafood including fish.

Risk-benefit Analysis of Fish Consumption for Women of Child-bearing Age in Hong Kong

The Food Consumption Survey and risk-benefit analysis conducted by the CFS revealed that the average fish and seafood intake by women of child-bearing age was about 450 grammes (~12 taels) per week and the benefits of eating such amount of fish outweighed the risks in terms of IQ gained by their developing foetuses. For those who ate a lot of fish and seafood (i.e. 1 500 grammes or ~40 taels per week), the benefits might be negated by the inclusion of certain types of large predatory fish in the diet.

The level of mercury in fish may vary according to the source and living environment. Generally speaking, smaller fish (below one catty), farmed fish, freshwater fish and non-predatory fish contain lower levels of methylmercury. Since excessive intake of methylmercury can affect the developing nervous system, women of child-bearing age and young children should consume a variety of fish in moderation and avoid consumption of large predatory fish such as tuna (especially the bigeye and bluefin species), alfonsino, shark, swordfish, marlin, orange roughy, tilefish and king mackerel.

Key Points to Note:

  • Fish contains many essential nutrients, such as omega-3 fatty acids and high quality proteins. Fatty fish such as yellow croaker and salmon, in particular, contains high levels of omega-3 fatty acids.
  • Omega-3 fatty acids help lower the risk of coronary heart disease and stroke and are important for the foetal growth and neurological development.
  • Benefits from fish consumption outweigh potential risks associated with current levels of contaminants (such as dioxins) in fish.

Advice to the Public

  1. The public is advised to maintain a balanced and diverse diet and to consume a variety of fish as part of a healthy diet.
  2. To get the most benefits from eating fish, women of child-bearing age and young children are advised to consume a variety of fish in moderation and avoid overindulgence.
  3. Pregnant women, women planning pregnancy and young children should avoid consumption of the large predatory fish.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 15-07-2015

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页 下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一五年七月第一百零八期) - 焦点个案

吃鱼对健康的好处

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任任朱源强先生报告

食物安全中心(中心)在二零一五年六月公布有关非二恶英样多氯联苯的风险评估研究结果,其中指鱼类有较大机会含有该组化学污染物。研究结果引起公众对吃鱼,尤其是三文鱼的关注。其实,国际机构和中心的研究均显示食用三文鱼、桂花鱼和黄花鱼等多种鱼类对健康的好处,明显超过摄入鱼类体内污染物(以目前含量计)所带来的风险。本文将重点探讨吃鱼对育龄妇女和幼童的好处和坏处。

 

对健康的好处

鱼类除了含丰富的奥米加-3脂肪酸和优质蛋白质外,还含有多种营养素,例如碘质、硒质、钙质、铁质,以及维他命A和D等。每种鱼都含有DHA(二十二碳六烯酸)和EPA(二十碳五烯酸)等奥米加-3脂肪酸,其中以油脂较多的鱼类(例如三文鱼和黄花鱼)的含量较高(见表一)。

表一 本港部分常见鱼类的DHA和EPA及非二恶英样多氯联苯含量

奥米加-3脂肪酸有助预防冠心病及中风,而且有利于胎儿的脑神经发育。钙质和维他命D是牙齿和骨骼健康生长的必要元素。而碘质则是制造甲状腺激素的必需营养素,人体缺乏碘质可引致甲状腺肿(俗称“大颈泡”)和发育迟缓。

 

对健康的坏处

另一方面,我们在吃鱼时同时也摄入了鱼体内的二恶英、二恶英样多氯联苯和汞等污染物。不过,中心以往的研究已确定本港市民健康受食物中二恶英和二恶英样多氯联苯,包括非二恶英样多氯联苯影响的机会不大。此外,不少海外研究均指鱼类体内的这些污染物含量近年来有所下降。

甲基汞是有机形态的汞,对胎儿发育中的神经系统有不良影响。研究显示,捕猎性鱼类的汞含量可能较高,育龄妇女应有所警愓。此外,幼童的脑部仍在发育中,比成人更易受甲基汞影响,甲基汞可造成幼童智力下降。

 

其他卫生机构的建议

粮食及农业组织和世界卫生组织

对正值生育年龄的妇女来说,在奥米加-3脂肪酸的益处与甲基汞的害处两相比较之下,怀孕期间吃鱼比不吃鱼,更能减低胎儿的神经系统发育不健全的风险。

欧洲食物安全局

欧洲食物安全局最近报告,相对于没有吃海产(包括鱼类)的孕妇,孕妇每星期吃一至两份,最多三至四份(相当于150至600克)鱼类等海产,孩子的神经系统机能发展更佳。

 

本港育龄妇女吃鱼的利与弊

中心的食物消费量调查和利弊分析研究显示,本港育龄妇女平均每星期吃450克(约12两)鱼和海产;而吃这个数量的鱼给胎儿的智力发育所带来的好处超过有关的风险。至于吃大量鱼类和海产(每星期吃1500克或约40两)的孕妇,如所吃的鱼类中包括体型较大的捕猎性鱼类,吃鱼的好处可能会被抵消。

鱼类的汞含量多寡,视乎其食物来源和生活水域而定。一般来说,体型较小(一斤以下)的鱼、养殖鱼、淡水鱼和非捕猎性鱼类的甲基汞含量较低。由于摄入过量甲基汞会对发育中的神经系统造成损害,育龄妇女和幼童虽然应适量进食多种鱼类,但应避免进食体型较大的捕猎性鱼类,如吞拿鱼(特别是某些品种如大眼吞拿鱼和蓝鳍吞拿鱼)、金目鲷、鲨鱼、剑鱼、旗鱼、橘棘鲷和大王马鲛鱼等。

 

注意要点:

  • 鱼含有多种人体所需的营养素,如奥米加-3脂肪酸和优质蛋白质等。油脂较多的鱼类(例如三文鱼和黄花鱼)含丰富的奥米加-3脂肪酸。
  • 奥米加-3脂肪酸有助预防冠心病及中风,而且有利于胎儿生长和脑神经发育。
  • 以鱼类体内污染物(例如二恶英)目前的含量计,吃鱼的好处超过坏处。

 

给市民的建议

  1. 市民应保持均衡及多元化的饮食,而进食多种鱼类是健康饮食的重要部分。
  2. 要取得吃鱼的最大效益,育龄妇女和幼童应适量进食不同品种的鱼类,切勿偏吃。
  3. 孕妇、准备怀孕的妇女和幼童应避免进食体型较大的捕猎性鱼类。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 15-07-2015