Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (107th Issue, June 2015) – Incident in Focus

Pesticide Residues in Tea Products Not Complying with the Standards in Taiwan

Reported by Ms. Joan YAU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Management Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Announcements by Taiwan authorities in mid-April that levels of pesticide residues in a number of tea leaf/floral tea samples available in Taiwan not complying with their regulatory standards have sparked concerns among the public. This article provides an overview of pesticide residues in tea products, regulatory measures and follow-up actions taken by the Centre for Food Safety (CFS).

Pesticide Residues in Tea Products

Proper use of pesticides can reduce crop damage by pests and increase the crop yield. Small amounts of pesticide residues may inevitably remain in crops, including tea products, despite following their application under Good Agricultural Practice (GAP) or as a result of environmental contamination.

Regulation of Pesticide Residues in Tea Products

Food safety authorities usually set standards, known as the “ Maximum Residue Limits (MRLs) ”, for pesticide residues in food. These standards are the maximum legally permitted levels that are established with reference to the authorised use condition of pesticides according to GAP. As the conditions in different countries (e.g. pest types and environmental conditions) are different, the approved GAP for individual pesticide may not necessarily be the same and therefore different MRLs may be established. The Codex Alimentarius Commission (Codex), the international reference point for developing food standards, has strived to establish internationally harmonised MRLs so as to protect the consumers’ health and promote international trade.

Although the primary objective of setting MRLs is to protect consumers’ health, these standards should not be treated directly as the “food safety limits”. A residual level exceeding the MRL is more a reflection of non-compliance with GAP rather than an implication that consumers’ health is at risk, provided that the total dietary intake of that particular pesticide falls below the health-based guidance values (also called “ safety reference values ” under the Pesticide Residues in Food Regulation (Cap. 132CM) (the Regulation)). In fact, in most instances, public health is not at risk even though MRLs have been exceeded.

In Hong Kong, pesticide residues in food are subject to control under the Regulation which has come into operation on 1 August 2014. Recognising the fact that Hong Kong relies heavily on imported food, the standards laid down in the Regulation was formulated primarily on the available Codex standards, supplemented by available standards of the Mainland and other major food exporting countries to Hong Kong at that time, while taking into consideration comments received during previous consultation exercises. These standards had been scrutinised by conducting risk assessment to ensure that they are adequate to protect public health in Hong Kong.

The general principle of the Regulation is that except for exempted pesticides, import or sale of food containing pesticide residues with no specified standards in the Regulation is only allowed if consumption of the food concerned is not dangerous or prejudicial to health with reference to the risk assessment results. The CFS will also assess whether the level detected has suggested improper use of the pesticide concerned.

As new pesticides and new applications on crops keep emerging, standards listed in the Regulation are understandably not exhaustive and will be subject to review based on the international development and proposals received from stakeholders.

Discard the first infusion may remove some of the undesirable substances, but also remove concentrates or essences of which some consumers may treasure.
Discard the first infusion may remove some of the undesirable substances, but also remove concentrates or essences of which some consumers may treasure.

Actions Taken

Apart from liaising with Taiwan authorities over the issue, the CFS has immediately enhanced surveillance on pesticide residues in tea products and contacted the relevant traders to investigate if the affected products have been imported into Hong Kong.

In connection with the above incident, the CFS has collected 228 samples for the testing of pesticide residues from 21 April 2015 to 16 June 2015. Except for a jasmine floral tea sample detected with triazophos at a level of 0.41 mg/kg, the other samples were found satisfactory. Based on the level detected in the sample, adverse health effects are not expected upon usual consumption.

Since the Taiwan incident is evolving, investigation by the CFS is ongoing. Consumers and traders can refer to the CFS’ website for the latest information.

Key Points to Note:

  • Small amounts of pesticide residues may remain in crops even after their proper application.
  • To keep abreast of international developments and emerging pesticide applications, there is a need to update the standards for pesticide residues in food as and when appropriate.
  • Occasional intake of food with pesticide residue exceeding the standard does not automatically imply public health is at risk.

Advice to the Trade

  1. Stop selling any product that is suspected to be affected and inform the CFS immediately.
  2. Ensure the tea products complied with the Regulation.

Advice to the Public

  1. Do not consume the affected products if purchased.
  2. While discarding the first infusion may in theory remove some of the undesirable substances like dirt, microbes and some chemicals including pesticides, it would also remove concentrates or essences of which some consumers may treasure.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 17-06-2015

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页 下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一五年六月第一百零七期)- 焦点个案

台湾茶类产品除害剂残余量不符合当地标准

食物安全中心
风险管理组
科学主任任邱颂韵女士报告

台湾当局在四月中公布当地市面上多款茶叶/花茶样本的除害剂残余量不符合当地有关规管标准,事件引起公众关注。本文将对茶类产品中的除害剂残余、规管措施及食物安全中心(中心)采取的跟进行动作一概述。

茶类产品中的除害剂残余

正确施用除害剂能减轻有害生物对农作物所造成的损害,并提高农作物的产量。即使完全依照优良务农规范施用了除害剂或受环境污染的农作物(包括茶类产品),亦有可能残留小量除害剂。

规管茶类产品的除害剂残余

食物安全规管当局通常会就食物中的除害剂残余制定标准,称为“最高残余限量”。这些标准是参考优良务农规范中有关除害剂的核准施用条件而制定,是法定准许除害剂在食物中残留的最高含量。由于各国的情况不同(例如有害生物的种类和环境状况),各国就个别除害剂的核准优良务农规范未必相同,因此各自或会制定出不同的最高残余限量。食品法典委员会制定的食物标准被视为国际参考准则,该会亦一直致力建立一套国际统一的最高残余限量标准,以保障消费者的健康及促进国际贸易。

虽然制定最高残余限量主要是为了保障消费者的健康,但人们不应把这些标准直接看成“食物安全上限”。只要从食物中摄入的除害剂总分量低于健康参考值(在《食物内除害剂残余规例》(第132CM章)(《规例》)中称为安全参考值),即使吃下的个别食物其除害剂残余水平超出最高残余限量,亦未必表示健康会受损,只是反映了农民没有遵从优良务农规范的规定。事实上,在大部分情况下,即使除害剂残余超过最高残余限量,公众的健康都没有受到影响。

在香港,食物中的除害剂残余受二零一四年八月一日起实施的《规例》规管。考虑到香港十分倚赖进口食物,《规例》主要采纳由食品法典委员会厘定的可用标准,并以内地和向香港出口食物的其他主要国家当时可用的相关标准作补充,同时亦考虑了公众谘询期间所收集到的意见。中心进行了风险评估,进一步审视这些标准,确保这些标准足以保障香港市民的健康。

《规例》的原则是,除获豁免除害剂外,如食物含有除害剂残余但《规例》中并没有订明相关的标准,只有在风险评估结果显示食用有关食物不会危害或损害健康的情况下,才可进口或售卖有关食物。中心亦会根据检出的除害剂残余分量,评估有关除害剂是否施用不当。

由于应用于农作物的除害剂推陈出新,适用范围又不断改变,不难理解《规例》没有可能钜细无遗,中心会根据国际上的最新发展和持份者的建议,更新《规例》的标准。


茗茶时弃掉第一泡茶或能除去部分不良物质,但亦会失去消费者可能珍视的有益成分或精华。

中心采取的行动

中心除联络台湾有关当局了解事件外,并已即时加强检测本港茶类产品中的除害剂残余及主动联络相关商户,以了解有关产品有否进口本港。

因应台湾茶类产品事件,中心由今年四月二十一日至六月十六日共抽取了228个样本作除害剂残余检测,除了一个茉莉花茶样本含百万分之零点四一的三唑磷外,其余样本全部合格。按该样本验出的除害剂含量,在正常食用情况下,不会对健康造成不良影响。由于事件在台湾仍未结束,本港的调查仍在进行中。消费者和业界人士可留意中心网页公布的最新资料。

注意要点:

  • 即使是正确施用,农作物亦有可能残留小量除害剂。
  • 食物内的除害剂残余标准有必要因应国际上的发展和新兴的除害剂施用适时更新。
  • 偶尔吃下除害剂残余超标的食物未必表示健康会受损。

给业界的建议

  1. 若怀疑拥有涉事产品,应停止出售并立即与中心联络。
  2. 确保茶类产品符合《规例》要求。

给市民的建议

  1. 如已购买涉事产品,应停止食用。
  2. 茗茶时弃掉第一泡茶理论上是可除去部分灰尘、微生物和化学物(包括除害剂)等不良物质,但同时亦会失去一些消费者可能珍视的有益成分或精华。
上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 17-06-2015