Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (106th Issue, May 2015) – Incident in Focus

Cold-smoked Salmon and Listeria monocytogenes

Reported by Ms. Janny MA, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Recently, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) found that a cold-smoked salmon sample from Polyfood Food Service Co Ltd contained a small amount of Listeria monocytogenes. This article discusses the risk of L. monocytogenes in cold-smoked salmon and the importance of effective control during the production.

L. monocytogenes in Smoked Salmon

Smoked salmon can be prepared by hot-smoking or cold-smoking. In hot-smoking, salmon is smoked at around 70-80°C to cook the flesh. However, in cold-smoking, salmon is smoked at no higher than 33°C to avoid cooking the flesh or coagulating the protein. Therefore unlike hot-smoking, cold-smoking is generally insufficient to eliminate but only reduce the level of L. monocytogenes, a bacterium which is ubiquitous in the environment and may also be present in raw salmon at low levels.

In addition, the extensive handling of salmon, for example slicing followed by cold-smoking, also provides ample opportunities for L. monocytogenes to cross-contaminate the products if inadequate attention is given to the Good Hygienic Practices (GHPs).

Ready-to-eat cold-smoked salmon may allow L. monocytogenes to grow slowly throughout its relatively long refrigerated shelf-life. Its contamination with L. monocytogenes, even with small quantities, is therefore of particular concern.

Various food recalls due to L. monocytogenes contamination in cold-smoked salmon have been reported all over the world. There is also indirect epidemiological evidence associating contaminated smoked fish and human listeriosis cases.

Cold-smoked salmon
Cold-smoked salmon

Importance of Effective Control to Ensure Food Safety

In general, foods containing low levels of L. monocytogenes (e.g. <100 colony-forming unit (cfu)/g) pose very little risk to consumers. However, as the number of bacteria increases, consumers will be at risk of listeriosis. Even most healthy individuals do not develop symptoms or only have mild symptoms when infected, severe complications such as septicaemia, meningitis or even death may occur in the susceptible populations, including the elderly, young children, and people with weakened immunity. Listeriosis during pregnancy can lead to miscarriage, stillbirth, premature delivery, or infection in newborns. Prevention of L. monocytogenes contamination and controlling its growth is of prime importance in cold-smoked salmon production.

Firstly, raw material control could play a role on the incidence of L. monocytogenes in incoming fish. More importantly, equipment and facilities in the production plant should be properly laid out to reduce the potential for L. monocytogenes contamination. For instance, droplets and aerosols from condensates can directly or indirectly contaminate food and food contact surfaces, it is essential to control the ventilation to minimise condensate formation. Furthermore, specified cleaning and disinfection programmes, along with an environmental monitoring programme are also critical to assuring L. monocytogenes control. Employees involved with the production and handling of cold-smoked salmon should also be trained to prevent cross-contamination.

Since temperature abuse would foster the growth of L. monocytogenes, strict temperature control for finished product i.e. never exceed 6°C (preferably 2-4°C) is also vital. Growth of L. monocytogenes in cold-smoked salmon can also be controlled by freezing or product reformulation.

Actions Taken

Subsequent to the detection of L. monocytogenes in the concerned cold-smoked salmon by the CFS, the manufacturer was instructed to recall all smoked salmon produced, regardless of the brand and batches, and suspend the relevant production line to carry out thorough cleaning and disinfection.

The Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD) will closely follow up the incident. The manufacturer should demonstrate that the remedial actions have been taken and are up to the satisfaction of the FEHD including measures addressing L. monocytogenes risk before resuming operation.

Key Points to Note:

  • L. monocytogenes can grow slowly at refrigeration temperatures.
  • Cold-smoked salmon is regarded as a high-risk food of L. monocytogenes contamination.
  • Prevention of L. monocytogenes contamination and controlling its growth is important to ensure the safety of cold-smoked salmon.

Advice to the Public

  1. Susceptible populations should avoid consuming ready-to-eat foods with long shelf-lives under refrigeration (e.g. cold-smoked seafood including salmon, soft cheeses and deli meat).
  2. Store smoked salmon strictly in accordance with the instructions on the labels.
  3. Avoid consuming smoked salmon beyond its “use by” date.

Advice to the Trade

  1. Observe GHPs in food processing to assure that the food products do not pose risk to the public.
  2. Food businesses are recommended to implement the Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points (HACCP) system to prevent food safety problems.
  3. Seek professional advice from food scientists if there is any doubt on whether individual food product can support the growth of L. monocytogenes. Reference can also be made to the Codex Guidelines on the Application on General Principles of Food Hygiene to the Control of Listeria monocytogenes in Foods (CAC/GL 61-2007).
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 20-05-2015

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页 下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一五年五月第一百零六期)- 焦点个案

冷熏三文鱼与李斯特菌

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任马嘉明女士报告

最近,食物安全中心(中心)在保发食品有限公司制造的一个冷熏三文鱼样本中验出小量李斯特菌。本文将探讨冷熏三文鱼含李斯特菌的风险和在生产过程中采取有效控制措施的重要性。

烟三文鱼中的李斯特菌

烟三文鱼可以热熏或冷熏方法熏制。热熏是把三文鱼在大约摄氏70至80度下熏熟。冷熏是在不高于摄氏33度的温度熏制,使三文鱼不被熏熟或令蛋白凝固。和热熏不同,冷熏只能减少李斯特菌的数目,但一般不足以把该菌完全杀灭。李斯特菌是一种在环境中无处不在的细菌,生的三文鱼亦可能带有小量李斯特菌。

此外,三文鱼在冷熏后须经过切片等多重处理,如果没有依足优良卫生规范,产品很容易受李斯特菌交叉污染。

由于即食冷熏三文鱼可让李斯特菌在其较长的冷藏保质期间慢慢繁殖,因此,即使是受小量李斯特菌污染,亦特别值得关注。

世界各地曾发生多宗冷熏三文鱼因受李斯特菌污染而须回收的事件,亦有间接的流行病证据显示受污染的烟熏鱼类与人类患李斯特菌病有关。

冷熏三文鱼
冷熏三文鱼

有效的控制措施对确保食物安全的重要性

一般而言,食物含小量李斯特菌(例如每克食物含少于100个菌落形成单位)对消费者的健康影响极微。但如细菌数量增加,消费者可能有染上李斯特菌病的风险。大部分身体健康的人在感染李斯特菌后不会出现病征或只出现轻微病征,但如受感染的是长者、幼儿和免疫力较低等高危人士,则可能出现严重的并发症如败血症及脑膜炎,甚至死亡。孕妇染上李斯特菌病更可导致流产、胎死腹中、早产或新生婴儿受感染。因此,在冷熏三文鱼的制作过程中,最重要的是预防李斯特菌污染及控制其生长。

首先,来货中的李斯特菌可通过监控原材料的品质来控制。更重要的是,加工厂的设备和用具须妥为安排,减少受李斯特菌污染的可能性。举例来说,由凝水(俗称「倒汗水」)产生的液滴和喷雾有机会直接或间接污染食物及接触食物的表面,因此有必要保持良好的通风,以减少凝水的形成。此外,专门的清洁及消毒措施,以及环境监察制度对于控制李斯特菌亦是非常重要的。制作和处理冷熏三文鱼的员工亦应接受关于预防污染的培训。

由于食物存放在不适当的温度下有利于李斯特菌的繁殖,制成品的温度控制(不应超过摄氏6度,以摄氏2至4度为宜)至为重要。把冷熏三文鱼保持冷凝,或改良食物配方。

中心采取的行动

中心在验出有冷熏三文鱼样本含李斯特菌后,已指令涉事生产商全面回收其生产的所有品牌及批次的烟三文鱼产品,并停止有关生产线的运作,以进行彻底清洗消毒。

食物环境卫生署(食环署)会密切跟进事件。有关生产商须采取令食环署满意的补救措施(包括李斯特菌防控措施),才能恢复生产。

注意要点:

  • 李斯特菌在冷藏温度下仍可缓慢生长。
  • 冷熏三文鱼属容易受李斯特菌污染的高危食物。
  • 预防李斯特菌污染及控制其生长对确保冷熏三文鱼的安全至为重要。

给市民的建议

  1. 高危人士应避免进食保质期较长的冷冻即食食物(例如包括三文鱼在内的冷熏海产、软芝士和切片冻肉等)。
  2. 严格遵从标签上的指示存放烟三文鱼。
  3. 切勿进食已过了“此日期或之前食用”日期的烟三文鱼。

给业界的建议

  1. 在加工处理食物时遵守优良卫生规范,确保食物不会危害市民健康。
  2. 食物制造业应采用「食物安全重点控制」(HACCP)系统以防止出现食物安全问题。
  3. 如对某种即食食品是否有利李斯特菌生长存疑,应征询专业意见,亦可参阅食品法典委员会制定的《应用食品卫生的一般原则控制食品中单核细胞增生李斯特氏菌的准则》(CAC/GL61-2007)

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 20-05-2015