Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (105th Issue, April 2015) – Incident in Focus

Review of Food Poisoning Outbreaks Related to Food Premises and Food Business in 2014

Reported by Dr. Stella YAU, Medical & Health Officer,
Food Incidents Response & Management Unit,
Centre for Food Safety

This article reviews the food poisoning outbreaks related to local food premises and food business that were reported to the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) of the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department in 2014.

Food Poisoning Outbreaks Related to Local Food Premises and Food Business

Food poisoning is a statutory notifiable disease in Hong Kong. To protect public health, the CFS, in collaboration with the Department of Health (DH), is responsible for the investigation and control of food poisoning outbreaks related to local food premises and food business. In 2014, the CFS received 216 food poisoning cases referred from the DH which affected 924 persons. The annual number of referred cases decreased generally from 2006 to 2010 and had since remained relatively stable over the past few years, ranging from 216 to 350 cases per year (see Figure).


No. of food poision outbreaks

Causative Agents and Contributing Factors

Bacterial foodborne agents remained the leading causes (80%) of all food poisoning outbreaks in 2014, with Vibrio parahaemolyticus, Salmonella and Bacillus cereus being the top three bacterial pathogens. For the viral causes, norovirus, found to be the only incriminated viral agent causing around 12% of all the cases referred to the CFS.

Of the 216 cases investigated last year, contaminated raw food (food to be eaten raw), improper holding temperature and inadequate cooking were the most frequently identified contributing factors. The importance of good hygiene and food safety practices in safeguarding food safety are illustrated by the following two major food poisoning outbreaks that occurred in 2014.

Food Poisoning Outbreaks Related to the Consumption of Raw Oysters Contaminated by Norovirus

Norovirus has been an important causative agent of viral food poisoning around the world. In Hong Kong, raw oyster is identified as the most commonly incriminated food for foodborne norovirus outbreaks. Norovirus can be transmitted via consumption of food or water contaminated with the virus. Norovirus is relatively heat and acid resistant. Hence, thorough cooking is required to kill norovirus in oysters.

In January 2014, the CFS received from the DH four food poisoning outbreaks related to the consumption of raw oysters in three food premises, affecting 22 persons. Investigation revealed a common source of oyster (Ireland) in all clusters. Trade alert was issued to the relevant traders and import of oysters from the affected area in Ireland was suspended. No further related cases occurred afterwards.

An Outbreak Related to Improper Holding Temperature of Lunch Box Meals

Clostridium perfringens is a spore-forming bacterium which commonly presents in raw meat and poultry. Outbreaks of Clostridium perfringens often happen when food is prepared in large quantities and kept under inappropriate holding temperature for a prolonged period. Preventive measures include thorough cooking of food and keeping food at the safe temperatures, i.e. above 60˚C or at or below 4˚C.

In June 2014, the CFS was informed of a major food poisoning case involving 93 school children. Epidemiological information revealed that the incriminated lunch boxes suspected to be contaminated with Clostridium perfringens were provided by a food factory. Investigation revealed that improper holding temperature of the lunch box meals during transport from the food factory to school for seven hours or more was suspected to be the contributing factor leading to food poisoning. The CFS instructed the food factory to follow good food safety practices, particularly keeping the lunch boxes at proper holding temperature. No further related cases were reported afterwards.

Conclusion

Although the number of food poisoning outbreaks has remained at a relatively low level over the past few years, there is no room for complacency. While the government will continue to be vigilant in safeguarding food safety, the trade and the public are advised to adopt and adhere to the “Five Keys to Food Safety” in order to prevent the occurrence of future outbreaks

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 15-04-2015

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页 下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一五年四月第一百零五期)- 焦点个案

二零一四年有关食肆及食物业的食物中毒个案回顾

食物安全中心
食物事故应变及管理小组
丘瀞慈医生报告

本文就食物环境卫生署辖下的食物安全中心(中心)在二零一四年接获的本港食肆及食物业的食物中毒个案作出回顾。

与本港食肆及食物业相关的食物中毒个案

食物中毒在香港是法定须呈报的疾病。为保障公众健康,中心和卫生署合作调查及监控有关食肆及食物业的食物中毒个案。在二零一四年,中心接获216宗由卫生署转介的怀疑食物中毒个案,共有924人受影响。由卫生署转介的怀疑食物中毒个案数字在二零零六年至二零一零年间逐年下降,过去数年转趋平稳,保持在每年216至350宗之间(见图)。

食物中毒个案数目

病原体及成因

在二零一四年所有个案中,由细菌引起的仍然占大多数(80%),排在头三位的是副溶血性弧菌、沙门氏菌和蜡样芽孢杆菌。至于病毒所引起的食物中毒个案,全部都是因进食生的或未彻底煮熟的双壳贝类而感染诺如病毒,占中心接获个案总数的12%。

在去年调查的216宗食物中毒个案中,最常见的三个成因分别是生吃的食物受污染、贮存温度不当和食物未经彻底煮熟。

以下两宗在二零一四年发生的食物中毒个案说明了保持良好卫生和采取食物安全措施对保障食物安全的重要性。

与进食受诺如病毒污染的生蚝有关的食物中毒个案

诺如病毒是世界各地病毒性食物中毒的主要致病原。在香港,大部分由诺如病毒引致的食物中毒个案都与进食生蚝有关。饮用和进食受污染的水或食物,均有可能感染诺如病毒。由于诺如病毒较耐热和耐酸,把蚝彻底煮熟才能消灭蚝只体内的病毒。

二零一四年一月,中心接获由卫生署转介的四宗食物中毒个案,事件与进食生蚝有关,涉及三所食肆,有22人受影响。调查发现涉事蚝只全部来自爱尔兰。中心遂向有关方面发出业界警报,并暂停进口产自爱尔兰有关地区的蚝只。在采取以上控制措施后,本港再没有出现相关的个案。

因饭盒贮存温度不当而引起的食物中毒个案

产气荚膜梭状芽孢杆菌是一种能产生孢子的细菌,一般存在于肉类和家禽中。与这种细菌有关的食物中毒个案通常涉及需要预先制作大量食物,并长时间把食物存放在不适当温度下的情况。预防方法包括把食物彻底煮熟,并存放在安全温度下,即摄氏60度以上或摄氏4度或以下。

二零一四年六月,中心接获一宗集体食物中毒个案,共93名学童受影响。根据流行病学资料,个案中怀疑受产气荚膜梭状芽孢杆菌污染的饭盒是由一间食物制造厂供应。调查结果显示,饭盒在由食物制造厂运送至学校的途中贮存温度不当,历时逾七小时可能是这次事件的肇因。中心要求该食物制造厂遵循良好卫生守则,尤其是要注意存放饭盒的正确温度。其后中心再没有收到新的相关个案。

结语

虽然有关食肆及食物业的食物中毒事件数目在过去数年维持在相对低的水平,但我们绝对不会掉以轻心。政府定当一如既往地努力保障食物安全,而业界和市民亦应时刻谨守“食物安全五要点”,以预防食物中毒个案的发生。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 15-04-2015