Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (102nd Issue, January 2015) – Food Safety Platform

Nutrition Claims on Formula Products and Foods for Infants and Young Children

Reported by Ms. Melissa LIU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

This article is the first of a series of three articles that focus on nutrition claims and health claims in formula products and foods for infants and young children (“IYC food”).

Nutrition Claim

“Nutrition claim” (includes “nutrient content claim” and “nutrient comparative claim”) means any representation which states, suggests or implies that a food has particular nutritional properties. It can be found on many prepackaged foods, including those for infants and young children.

The Codex Alimentarius Commission (Codex) opines that nutrition claims shall not be permitted for foods for infants and young children (including formula products) except where specifically provided for in relevant Codex standards or national legislation. However, nutrition claims on these products are still allowed in some countries when specific conditions are fulfilled. For example, in the USA, foods for children aged over two years can make “high calcium” claim when the product contains more than 160 mg calcium per serving; “More calcium” is permitted when a serving of the product has 80 mg calcium more than another product being compared.

Nutrition Claim

Certain Nutrition Claims Provide Useful Information

Nowadays, manufacturers often add various nutrients to follow-up formula due to their possible additional health effects to certain children, although these nutrients are not considered essential to children’s growth and development. To highlight the properties of these voluntarily added nutrients, they make claims such as “contains DHA”. There are views that such claims may help carers compare similar products in the market and make informed purchasing decisions.

In fact, in places such as Canada and the USA, traditionally there are formula products with low and high amounts of iron. Some products with iron content of at least 1 mg/100 kcal may be marked as “with iron” to help parents distinguish them from their counterparts.

Besides, similar to other prepackaged foods, certain IYC foods are available in different versions. For example, when fruit juice for young children comes with both the regular version and a “less sugar” version, the “less sugar” claim on the product may help carers quickly identify the healthier choice. Similarly, “low sodium” claim on IYC foods may facilitate carers make meal plans for their child, following the dietary guidelines of reducing sodium intake.

Are Products With Nutrition Claims Healthier or Better than Those Without?

Infant formulae are the only food which wholly fulfil the nutrition requirement of non-breastfed infants during their first few months of life. To meet infants’ nutritional need and fulfil the international (Codex) or national requirements, the nutrient contents of these products are carefully crafted and may not have any major differences. An infant formula with nutrition claim does not necessarily mean that it carries more health benefits than those without such claim.

Sometimes, the nutritional property described by the nutrition claim on a product is due to the natural characteristic of a food, rather than any special formulation or processing. For example, cow’s milk is a natural source of calcium; a product claimed to be “source of calcium” may not necessarily be “more nutritious” as it likely has similar calcium content as those without the claim.

Products with “low fat” claims may be a good option for older children and adults to limit dietary fat intake. However, infants and young children below two years old should avoid limiting fat intake in their normal diet as they need adequate fat for proper growth and development. For these children, foods with “low fat” claims are neither superior nor suitable choices.

As illustrated by the above examples, while some nutrition claims on formula products and IYC foods provide important information, others may not always be useful in making smart food choices. Parents and care-givers can read the nutrition label to understand the nutritional property of the food product.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 21-01-2015

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一五年一月第一百零二期)-食物安全平台

配方产品和婴幼儿食物的营养声称

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任廖佩珊女士报告

由今期起,我们会一连三期探讨配方产品和婴幼儿食物的营养和健康声称。

营养声称

"营养声称”(包括营养素含量声称和营养素比较声称)是指述明、指出或暗示某食品含有特定营养特质的陈述。很多预先包装食物,包括供婴幼儿食用的预先包装食物都载有这类声称。

食品法典委员会认为,拟供婴幼儿食用的食物(包括配方产品)不应获准作出营养和健康声称,除非相关的食品法典委员会标准或国家法例另有明确规定。然而,有些国家仍然准许这类产品在符合特定条件的情况下作出营养声称。举例来说,在美国,为年龄两岁以上幼童而设的食品只要每食用分量含超过160毫克钙,便可声称为“高钙”;如每食用分量的钙含量比另一同类产品多80毫克钙,便可声称为“钙含量更高”。

营养声称

部分营养声称能提供有用资讯

现代的生产商普遍在较大婴儿及幼儿配方产品中额外添加各种各样的营养素,这些营养素并非是对儿童的生长和发育必不可少,而是可能对某些儿童的健康有额外益处。为强调这些自行决定额外添加的营养素的效益,生产商采用了“含DHA”等声称。有意见认为这类声称能够帮助照顾者比较市场上的同类产品,从而作出有依据的选择。

事实上,在加拿大和美国等地的配方产品一向有分高铁含量和低铁含量。一些铁含量最少达1毫克/100千卡的产品可标记“含铁质”以资识别,方便家长作出选择。

此外,与其他预先包装食物一样,一些婴幼儿食物亦有不同的配方。例如,幼儿果汁有普通配方和“少糖”配方,产品上的“少糖”声称有助照顾者迅速识别出何者为较健康的选择。同样地,婴幼儿食物上的“低钠”声称亦有助照顾者遵从减少钠摄入量的膳食指引来安排婴幼儿的饮食。

有营养声称的产品是否比没有的更健康或更好?

婴儿配方产品是非母乳喂哺婴儿出生后首数月惟一赖以全面满足营养需求的食品。为满足婴儿的营养需要并符合国际(食品法典委员会)或国家要求,这类产品的营养素含量均经过精心调配,成分大同小异。因此,附有营养声称的婴儿配方产品并不一定比那些没有声称的有更大的健康益处。

有时候,产品所标榜的营养特质其实不过是食物的天然特点,而非特别配方或加工处理的成果。例如牛奶天然含有钙,声称“钙质来源”的产品并不一定“较有营养”,因为其钙含量很可能与那些没有作出声称的同类产品相若。

声称“低脂”的产品对需要减少摄入脂肪的较大儿童和成人可能是不错的选择,但对两岁以下的婴幼儿来说却不然,因为他们正需要摄取足够的脂肪来帮助正常生长和发育,并不适宜限制脂肪的摄入量。对他们来说,“低脂”食品不但不是较佳选择,更非适当的选择。

以上例子可见,虽然一些配方产品和婴幼儿食物的营养声称能够为消费者提供重要的资讯,但亦有些对作出精明的食物选择是无甚裨益的。家长和照顾者可参阅营养标签,了解食品的营养成分。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 21-01-2015