Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (102nd Issue, January 2015) – Incident in Focus

Atropine and Scopolamine in Foods

Reported by Mr. Johnny CHU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

In December 2014, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) received notification from the Rapid Alert System for Food and Feed of the European Commission (RASFF) that Holle Baby Food GmbH, a baby food manufacturer in Europe, had initiated a recall of certain batches of baby porridge because the products were detected with atropine and scopolamine at levels exceeding the maximum permitted level. This article discusses the occurrence, safety and regulation of atropine and scopolamine in foods.

What are Atropine and Scopolamine?

Atropine and scopolamine are alkaloids (organic basic substances) which naturally occur in plants of several families. The chemicals can be found in all parts of these plants and are responsible for the toxic effects of the plants. In fact, they play an important role in protecting the plants against being eaten by herbivores.

Plant extracts containing atropine and scopolamine have been used for centuries in human medicine. For example, atropine and scopolamine may be used to treat nausea and motion sickness, intestinal cramping, and for dilating pupils for eye examination.

Occurrence in Foods

In general, common crops grown for human consumption do not contain atropine or scopolamine. Hence, poisoning associated with the consumption of foods is usually the result of contamination of grain crops with seeds of the alkaloid-containing plants.

High concentrations of atropine and scopolamine have been found in some plants such as Datura species. They are widely distributed in temperate and tropical regions and may be present as weeds of cultivated fields. During harvesting of grain crops, their seeds may be accidentally harvested. Hence, they have been found as impurities in linseed, soybean, millet, sunflower and buckwheat and their products.

Datura metel flower Datura metel fruit
Datura metel is one of the Datura species that can be found in Hong Kong (Photos by courtesy of the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department).

Public Health Significance

Once consumed, atropine and scopolamine are readily absorbed from the gastrointestinal tract, quickly and extensively distributed into tissues, and excreted predominantly in the urine. Atropine and scopolamine have similar effects on the nervous system; they block the activity of acetylcholine which is involved in neurotransmission.

Atropine and scopolamine can induce a variety of acute effects, for example, dilated pupils, change of heart rate, dryness of the mouth, constipation, urinary retention, and flushed skin. Symptoms of short term effects usually occur in 30 to 60 minutes after consumption. The chemicals present will be excreted from the body and therefore there are no long term health effects.

In 2013, the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) established a group Acute Reference Dose (ARfD) of 0.016 μg/kg b.w. expressed as the sum of the chemicals. ARfD of a chemical is an estimate of the amount of a substance in food (and/or drinking-water), normally expressed on a body-weight basis, which can be ingested in a period of 24 hours or less without appreciable health risk to the consumer on the basis of all known facts at the time of the evaluation.

Regulatory Control

Currently, there is no international or national food safety standard developed for atropine and scopolamine in foods. There is also no specific regulation on atropine and scopolamine in foods stipulated in the Laws of Hong Kong. Nevertheless, all foods for sale in Hong Kong must be fit for human consumption.

Actions Taken

To protect public health, the CFS has immediately contacted the major importer of the products concerned in Hong Kong to initiate a recall of the products from the market. The CFS has also alerted the trade and the public of the incident. Besides, to ensure all products mentioned in the RASFF notification are not available in the market, the CFS has conducted checks on major local retail outlets and has not found the products available for sale.

Key Points to Note

  • Atropine and scopolamine are alkaloids which naturally occur in plants of several families.
  • Poisoning associated with foods is the result of contamination of crops with seeds of the alkaloid-containing plants.
  • Consumption of implicated products may cause short term adverse effects. Long term health effects are not expected.

Advice to the Trade

  1. The trade should ensure that the foods they sell or import are fit for human consumption and comply with legal standards.
  2. The trade should verify that their suppliers have controls in place to ensure that the raw materials they used comply with food legislation.

Advice to the Public

  1. Consumers should not feed infants and toddlers with the products concerned.
  2. If infants and toddlers feel sick after consuming the products concerned, medical advice should be sought.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 21-01-2015

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页 下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一五年一月第一百零二期)- 焦点个案

食物中的阿托品和东莨菪碱

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任朱源强先生报告

二零一四年十二月,食物安全中心(中心)接获欧洲联盟委员会食品和饲料快速预警系统的通报,指欧洲婴儿食品生产商凯莉婴幼儿食品有限公司(Holle Baby Food GmbH)回收旗下婴儿米糊的特定批次产品,原因是有关产品被验出阿托品和东莨菪碱含量超出最高容许限量。本文将探讨食物中阿托品和东莨菪碱的来源、其安全性及规管情况。

什么是阿托品和东莨菪碱?

阿托品和东莨菪碱是天然存在于某几科植物中的生物碱(有机碱性物质),遍布植物各个部分,是这些植物的致毒成分。事实上,这些毒素是植物避免成为草食性动物果腹之物的重要武器。

人类把含阿托品和东莨菪碱的植物萃取物作医药用途已有数百年的历史。举例来说,阿托品和东莨菪碱可用于缓解恶心、晕浪和胃肠痉挛,并可在验眼时放大瞳孔。

食物中的阿托品和东莨菪碱

人类食用的农作物一般不含阿托品和东莨菪碱,相关的食物中毒个案通常是由于谷类作物受到含生物碱的植物种子污染所致。

曼陀萝等植物含有高浓度的阿托品和东莨菪碱,这些植物广泛分布于温带和热带地区,农田间的杂草也可见其踪影。在收割谷类作物时,这些植物的种子很可能会被误作农作物一并收去。亚麻籽、黄豆、小米、葵花籽和荞麦及这些植物的制品中都曾发现掺杂了这类杂质。

Datura metel flower Datura metel fruit
洋金花是香港其中一种曼陀萝植物(相片由渔农自然护理署提供)

对健康的影响

阿托品和东莨菪碱一旦进入人体,很容易被胃肠道吸收,并迅速地进入身体组织,最后主要随尿排出。阿托品和东莨菪碱对神经系统的作用相若,两者都能阻断神经传导物质乙醯胆碱的活性。

误食阿托品和东莨菪碱会对身体产生多种急性影响,例如瞳孔放大、心率变化、口干、便秘、尿潴留和面部潮红等,这些短期影响通常会在进食后30至60分钟出现。由于阿托品和东莨菪碱在人体内会被快速排出,所以不会对健康产生长远的影响。

欧洲食品安全局在二零一三年把这两种毒素组合的急性毒性参考剂量订为每公斤体重0.016微克。化学物质的急性毒性参考剂量是根据进行评估时所有已知的科学资料,按人体的体重计算,估算人在24小时或以下的时间内可从食物及/或食水摄入该化学物质而不致对健康带来明显风险的分量。

规管情况

目前尚没有针对阿托品和东莨菪碱的国际或国家食物安全标准,本港亦没有具体法律条文规管食物中的阿托品和东莨菪碱。但无论如何,所有在本港出售的食物都必须适宜供人食用。

中心采取的行动

为保障市民健康,中心在接报后已即时联络该产品于本港的主要入口商回收有关产品,并把事件知会业界和市民。此外,为确保市面上不再有通报提及的产品出售,中心已派员巡查本地主要的零售点,并未发现有受影响的产品出售。

注意要点

  • 阿托品和东莨菪碱是天然存在于某几科植物中的生物碱。
  • 相关的食物中毒个案通常是由于农作物受到含生物碱的植物种子污染所致。
  • 进食有关产品可能会出现短期的不良影响,但不会对健康产生长远的影响。

给业界的建议

  1. 业界应确保所出售或进口的食品适宜供人食用,并符合本港法例标准。
  2. 业界须核实其供应商有良好的监控措施确保所使用的原材料符合食物法例。

给市民的建议

  1. 消费者应立即停止让婴幼儿进食有关产品。
  2. 婴幼儿如食用上述产品后不适,应尽快求医。
上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 21-01-2014