Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly


Food Safety Focus (9th Issue, April 2007) – Incident in Focus

Tetrodotoxin Poisoning

Reported by Mr. TSANG Yiu Yuen, Research Officer, Veterinary Public Health Section, and
Dr. Anna S. P. TANG, Research Officer, Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Summary of Incident

In March 2007, a food poisoning outbreak was reported in Zhanjiang in Guangdong province with one patient died after the consumption of a toxic goby, Yongeichthys criniger.

Y. criniger, a member of the Gobiidae family, is one of the few gobies that develop a powerful poison called tetrodotoxin, which also occurs in some puffers. This toxic goby looks similar to another member of the Gobiidae family, edible mudskippers for example Boleophthalmus pectinirostris which is a very common non-toxic food fish species in China. Therefore some people initially thought that the fish poisoning was caused by the consumption of mudskipper.

Tetrodotoxin-containing goby species are rarely found in Hong Kong. None of the food fish species of goby available in the local market have been reported to contain tetrodotoxin.

What is Tetrodotoxin?

Tetrodotoxin is a potent marine neurotoxin, named after the order Tetraodontiformes with which it is commonly associated. Puffer fish (see illustrations) and porcupine fish are common examples of fish containing tetrodotoxin under this order. Tetrodotoxin has also been isolated from other animal species including goby, shellfish, California newt, parrotfish, frogs of the genus Atelopus, the blue-ringed octopus, starfish, angelfish, and xanthid crabs.

Illustrations: Some species of poisonous puffer fish. Green rough-backed puffer (Lagocephalus lunaris) (top); yellow fin puffer (Takifugu xanthopterus) (bottom) (courtesy of Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department)

Tetrodotoxin is considered likely to be produced by marine bacteria that are often associated with marine animals. In puffer fish, the distribution of tetrodotoxin is mainly in the ovaries (eggs), liver and skin. The flesh is normally free of toxin. However, flesh of some toxic gobies such as Yongeichthys nebulosis also contains tetrodotoxin.

Tetrodotoxin is heat-stable and therefore likely to remain in fish tissue after food preparation steps (e.g. cooking and drying). Eating fish containing tetrodotoxin such as puffer fish and porcupine fish can therefore be hazardous.

Toxicity of Tetrodotoxin

In human, the lethal dose of tetrodotoxin is around 1 to 2 mg and the minimum dose necessary to cause symptoms has been estimated to be 0.2 mg. The onset of symptoms of tetrodotoxin intoxication usually occurs from 10 to 45 minutes after ingestion, but may be delayed by three hours or more. Paraesthesia appears in the face and extremities, which may be followed by dizziness or numbness. Nausea, vomiting, diarrhoea and epigastric pain may also be present. Later, respiratory symptoms such as rapid breathing may follow. Low blood pressure, convulsions and irregular heart rate may occur. In most instances, the patients retain consciousness until shortly before death, which usually takes place within the first six hours. All humans are susceptible to tetrodotoxin poisoning. There are currently no known antidotes or antitoxins to tetrodotoxin. The treatment of symptoms is therefore supportive.

There are differences in toxicity and toxin distribution in tissues among different puffer fish species. In addition, seasonal, individual and local variations of toxicity and toxin composition in puffer fish are occasionally observed. Tetrodotoxin poisoning may be caused by ingestion of only a small amount of puffer fish.

Past Tetrodotoxin Poisoning Cases in Hong Kong

Local cases of tetrodotoxin poisoning occur but are uncommon. In the past three years, there had been five cases of food poisoning, affecting twelve people, due to tetrodotoxin reported to the Department of Health. Of these, four cases (involving eleven people) were related to the consumption of puffer fish and the other one (affecting one person) was suspected to be related to the consumption of dried porcupine fish product (see illustration). The patient developed symptoms compatible with tetrodotoxin poisoning after consuming a soup made from dried porcupine fish.

Illustration: Dried porcupine fish (courtesy of Hong Kong Poison Information Centre)

Advice to the Trade and Consumers

In Hong Kong, all food available for sale on the market must be fit for human consumption and the trade should pay particular attention to the import and sale of fish and fish products to ensure they are safe for consumption. Consumers are advised to avoid purchasing, and dressing puffer fish, porcupine fish or unknown fish for consumption on their own.

Further Information

Further information on the fish species may be available from the Hong Kong Marine Fish Database maintained by the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department.

Acknowledgement

Kind permission for the use of photographs by the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department and the Hong Kong Poison Information Centre is gratefully acknowledged.

 

 

 

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :30-01-2008

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印




食物安全焦点(二零零七年四月第九期)-焦点个案

河豚毒素中毒

食物安全中心
兽医公共卫生组研究主任曾耀源先生及
风险评估组研究主任邓绍平博士联合报告

事故摘要

二零零七年三月,广东湛江市爆发因进食云斑裸颊鰕虎鱼的食物中毒事故,有一名村民死亡。

云斑裸颊鰕虎鱼(拉丁学名:Yongeichthys criniger)属于鰕虎科,是含有“河豚毒素”的少数鰕虎鱼之一。河豚毒素亦会存在于部分河豚内。这种有毒的鰕虎鱼与同属一科可供人食用的弹涂鱼例如大弹涂鱼(拉丁学名:Boleophthalmus pectinirostris)外形相似,后者在中国是一种十分常见而没有毒性的食用鱼类。因此,有些人最初以为村民因进食弹涂鱼而中毒。

含河豚毒素的鰕虎鱼品种在本港十分少见,以往从没报告市面上出售的食用鰕虎鱼品种含有河豚毒素。

什么是河豚毒素?

河豚毒素是一种毒性强烈的海洋生物神经毒素,因经常与魨形目的河豚有关而得名。河豚(见插图)和刺规是含河豚毒素的魨形目常见鱼类。此外,这种毒素亦会存在于鰕虎鱼、贝类海产、加州蝾螈、鹦哥鱼、斑蟾属蛙类、蓝纹章鱼、海星、神仙鱼和扁蟹等其他动物品种。

插图:一些有毒的河豚品种:月尾兔头魨(拉丁学名:Lagocephalus lunaris) (上); 黄鳍多纪魨(拉丁学名:Takifugu xanthopterus) (下) (由渔农自然护理署提供)

专家相信,河豚毒素很可能是由经常与海洋生物有关的海洋细菌所产生。以河豚来说,河豚毒素主要分布在卵巢(鱼卵)、鱼肝和鱼皮,而鱼肉则通常不含毒素。不过,一些有毒的鰕虎鱼,例如云纹裸颊鰕虎鱼(拉丁学名:Yongeichthys nebulosis),其鱼肉亦含有河豚毒素。

河豚毒素非常耐热,因此在烹煮和干燥等食物配制过程后多会仍然留在鱼组织内,所以吃河豚和刺规等含有河豚毒素的鱼类是十分危险的。

河豚毒素的毒性

人们摄入约1~2毫克河豚毒素便可致命。另外,专家估计只需0.2毫克河豚毒素便可令人出现中毒症状。河豚毒素中毒症状通常会在病者吃下毒素后10至45分钟出现,但亦可延至三小时或以上。病者会觉得面部及手脚感觉异常,随后可能出现眩晕或麻痹,亦可能会有恶心、呕吐、腹泻和上腹疼痛。病者继而可能会有呼吸急速等呼吸症状,并可能出现低血压、抽搐和心律不正。一般而言,病者的神志会一直保持清醒,直至死亡前的一段短时间,而死亡通常在进食后的六小时内发生。所有人类均可受河豚毒素中毒所影响。现时并无已知的解毒剂或抗毒素可消解河豚毒素,因此症状的疗法均属支持性质。

不同品种河豚的毒性不同,毒素在组织的分布情况亦有异。此外,河豚的毒性和毒素成分亦偶尔会因季节和水域的差异及每条鱼的独特性而不同。人们可能只吃了小量河豚,便出现河豚毒素中毒症状。

本港的河豚毒素中毒个案

本港亦有河豚毒素中毒个案,但为数不多。过去三年,向卫生署呈报的由河豚毒素引致的食物中毒个案共有五宗,受影响人士有12名,其中四宗(涉及11人)与进食河豚有关,另一宗(涉及一人)则怀疑与进食刺规鱼干有关(见插图)。该名病者在饮用刺规鱼干汤后出现与河豚毒素中毒吻合的症状。

插图:刺规鱼干(由香港中毒谘询中心提供)

给业界和消费者的意见

在本港,市面上出售的所有食物必须适宜供人食用,业界应特别留意鱼类及鱼制品的进口与销售,确保可供安全食用。至于消费者,则应避免购买及自行劏洗河豚、刺规或不知名鱼类进食。

更多资料

有关鱼类品种的更多资料,请浏览渔农自然护理署管理的香港海水鱼资料库

鸣谢

承蒙渔农自然护理署及香港中毒谘询中心批准使用有关照片,谨此致以衷心谢意。

 

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 30-01-2008