Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (8th Issue, March 2007) – Food Safety Platform

Sweeteners in Food

Reported by Ms. Joey KWOK, Scientific Officer,
Risk Communication Section, Centre for Food Safety

Sweetness adds to the pleasure of eating. In the era when consumers are striving to maintain a healthy body weight, the demand for low-calorie sweet-tasting food products is ever increasing.

The use of alternative sweeteners has been expanding during the past few decades. Besides being used as table-top sweeteners, they are now common ingredients in a wide range of food and beverages such as soft drinks, candies, chewing gum, yoghurt and desserts.

Illustration: Commonly available low-calorie sugarfree products including chewing gum, carbonated soft drink and candies

What are Sweeteners?

In a broader sense, sweeteners are substances that are used to impart a sweet taste with or without providing energy. Traditional sweeteners refer to sugars that exist in many forms, the most familiar of which is sucrose. Sugars are carbohydrates; they give out 4 kilocalories (kcal) per gram upon digestion and metabolism. On the other hand, sugar alcohols (also known as polyols or polyhydric alcohols) are also carbohydrates but they are not fully absorbed and metabolized by the body and in turn provide fewer calories per gram (typically range from 1.5 to 3.0 kcal per gram). Sugar alcohols are generally less sweet than sugars. Common examples include sorbitol, mannitol and xylitol.

Low-calorie sweeteners (e.g. aspartame, saccharin and acesulfame potassium) are also known as non-nutritive sweeteners because they have very little or no caloric values. They are substantially sweeter than sugars and can be applied at very low levels in foods to give enough sweetness, resulting in calorie-savings. For instance, 1 gram of aspartame (providing 4 kcal) can replace 200 grams of sucrose (providing 800 kcal).

In legal terms defined by the food legislation in Hong Kong, “sweetener” does not include any sugars or other carbohydrates or polyhydric alcohols. The following paragraphs will focus on low-calorie sweeteners.

Why Use Low-calorie Sweeteners?

Low-calorie sweeteners can help consumers cut down on calories and control weight. As low-calorie sweeteners do not affect insulin or glucose levels, they can also help to manage chronic conditions like diabetes. Replacing sugars with low-calorie sweeteners in foods is considered not to promote tooth decay.

Nowadays, a range of low-calorie sweeteners is available on the market. General information on a few commonly used ones is summarized in Table 1. Low-calorie sweeteners are often used in combination. Blending can produce a synergistic effect, it also facilitates the development of a taste profile that is most acceptable to consumers. For instance, aspartame, acesulfame potassium and cyclamic acid are often used in combination in low-calorie carbonated soft drinks.

Table 1: General information on low-calorie sweeteners

Are Low-calorie Sweeteners Safe?

Before low-calorie sweeteners are permitted for use in foods, they have been assessed by the Joint Food and Agriculture Organization/World Health Organization Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) for safety, with corresponding Acceptable Daily Intakes (ADIs) allocated. The local studies on dietary exposure to selected low-calorie sweeteners from beverages and confectionary products, respectively, among secondary school students revealed that the exposures for both average and high consumers were below the respective ADIs as established by the JECFA.

There has been controversy over the safety of some low-calorie sweeteners. For example, there has been concern in the past that saccharin can cause bladder cancer in experimental animals. Many scientific authorities around the world including the International Agency for Research on Cancer re-evaluated saccharin in the 1990s and considered that the animal data which had raised questions about saccharin were not relevant to humans. Saccharin is permitted for food use in more than 100 countries to date.

Some special groups, however, should be aware of particular sweeteners like aspartame. Upon digestion, aspartame breaks down into amino acids phenylalanine and aspartic acid, as well as methanol. Individuals with phenylketonuria (PKU), a rare genetic disease in which the body cannot metabolize phenylalanine properly, should restrict phenylalanine intake from all dietary sources, including aspartame.

How are Sweeteners Regulated?

The Sweeteners in Food Regulations (Cap. 132U) stipulate eight types of low-calorie sweeteners currently permitted for food use in Hong Kong, namely acesulfame potassium, alitame, aspartame, aspartame-acesulfame salt, cyclamic acid (and sodium, potassium, calcium salts), saccharin (and sodium, potassium, calcium salts), sucralose and thaumatin. Starting from July 2007, the presence of food additives including sweeteners in prepackaged food available in Hong Kong must be listed by their functional classes and specific names or identification numbers on the food label.

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :30-01-2008

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印




食物安全焦点(二零零七年三月第八期)-食物安全平台

食物中的甜味剂

食物安全中心风险传达组
科学主任郭丽仪女士报告

甜味可以增添人们进食的乐趣。在消费者追求保持健康体重的年代,对低热量的甜味食品需求不断上升。

过去数十年,另类甜味剂的应用日广,除了用作餐桌甜味剂外,还是汽水、糖果、口香糖、乳酪和甜品等不少食物和饮品中的常见配料。

插图:常见的低热量无糖产品包括口香糖、汽水及糖果

什么是甜味剂?

从广义而言,甜味剂是用作添加甜味的物质,不论其会否提供热量。传统甜味剂指各式各样的糖,当中最为人熟悉的是蔗糖。糖属于碳水化合物,经消化和新陈代谢过程后可产生每克4千卡热量。另一方面,糖醇(又称为多元醇或多羟醇)亦属于碳水化合物,但不会为人体完全吸收和分解,因而每克提供较少热量(通常介乎每克1.5至3.0千卡热量)。糖醇的甜味通常较糖低,常见例子有山梨糖醇、甘露糖醇及木糖醇。

低热量甜味剂(例如天冬酰胺、糖精和醋磺内酯钾)由于只含很少甚或不含热量,故又称为非营养性甜味剂,其甜味大大高于糖,在食物中使用极小量便能提供足够的甜味,并减少食品的热量。举例来说,1克天冬酰胺可取代200克蔗糖,前者只提供4千卡热量,而后者则产生800千卡热量。

根据本港食物法例的定义,“甜味剂”并不包括糖或其他碳水化合物或多羟醇。下文将会集中论述低热量甜味剂。

为什么使用低热量甜味剂?

低热量甜味剂有助消费者减少摄入热量和控制体重。由于这类甜味剂不会影响胰岛素和葡萄糖水平,因此可有助控制糖尿病等长期病患。有专家认为,在食物中以低热量甜味剂代替糖不会引致蛀牙问题。

现时,市面上有不少低热量甜味剂,常见例子的一般资料撮列于表一。不同的低热量甜味剂经常会混合使用,这样可产生协同作用以达至更高的甜度,并能调制出最为消费者接受的味道。举例来说,低热量汽水便经常混合使用了天冬酰胺、醋磺内酯钾和环己基氨基磺酸。

表一:低热量甜味剂的一般资料

低热量甜味剂安全吗?

低热量甜味剂须经联合国粮食及农业组织/世界卫生组织联合食物添加剂专家委员会(专家委员会)评估其安全性,并订定相关的每日可摄取量,然后才获准在食物中使用。有关中学生从饮品及糖果类产品中摄入指定低热量甜味剂的本港研究显示,摄入量一般及偏高的中学生所摄取到的甜味剂分量都低于专家委员会订定的每日可摄取量。

过去某些低热量甜味剂的安全曾引起争论。举例来说,糖精就曾因可令实验室动物患膀胱癌而受人关注。世界各地不少科学机构(包括国际癌病研究机构)在九十年代对糖精重新作出评估,认为那些质疑糖精安全性的动物数据并不适用于人类。现时,超过100个国家准许在食物中使用糖精。

不过,有些特定人士须留意天冬酰胺等甜味剂。天冬酰胺经人体消化后,会分解为苯丙氨酸和天冬胺酸两种氨基酸及甲醇。苯丙酮酸尿症是一种罕见的遗传疾病,患者由于体内不能正常分解苯丙氨酸,故须限制饮食中的苯丙氨酸(包括天冬酰胺)摄取量。

如何规管甜味剂?

《食物内甜味剂规例》(第132U章)订定了八种现时获准在本港食物中使用的低热量甜味剂,即醋磺内酯钾、缩二氮酸基酰胺、天冬酰胺、天冬酰胺-醋磺内酯盐、环己基氨基磺酸(和钠、钾、钙盐)、糖精(和钠、钾、钙盐)、三氯半乳蔗糖和索马甜。由二零零七年七月起,本港市面上的预先包装食物如含有甜味剂等食物添加剂,必须在食物标签上列明其作用类别及本身所用名称或识别编号。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 30-01-2008