Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly


Food Safety Focus (4th Issue, November 2006) – Incident in Focus

CFS Investigated Food Poisoning Cases Related to Raw Oysters from the Same Supplier

Reported by Dr. Alex FU, Medical and Health Officer,
Food Incident Response Management Unit and
Ms. Joey KWOK and Mr. Arthur YAU, Scientific Officers,
Risk Communication Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Summary of the Incident

The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) conducted prompt investigation in September and October 2006 into the source of several suspected food poisoning cases which were compatible with norovirus infection caused by consumption of raw oysters. Upon identifying a common supplier, the CFS requested the supplier concerned to stop distributing the affected oysters which were claimed to be imported from Chile and to provide information on their distribution. In the absence of relevant information that was required to protect public health, the CFS made an appeal to the trade to be on the alert by revealing the incident. No more related cases were reported after implementing the control measures.

Illustration: Raw oysters

CFS's actions to control the infection

In deciding the necessary actions to be taken, protection of public health and public interest were the prime consideration and a number of factors were taken into consideration: (i) clinical and epidemiological findings showed that these food poisoning outbreaks were compatible with norovirus food poisoning outbreaks caused by raw oysters; (ii) investigation at the food premises involved did not identify any environmental hygiene factors contributing to the cases or any suspected food items other than oysters; and (iii) the batches of raw oysters concerned were found to be sourced from the same supplier.

During the investigation, a stool sample from one of the patients was found positive for norovirus. As part of the investigatory work, samples of oysters were collected for testing and results showed that no norovirus was detected. The negative findings, however, do not prove that the batches of oysters the patients consumed were not contaminated by norovirus.

Features of Norovirus

Norovirus is transmitted primarily through the fecal-oral route via contaminated food or water although spread via direct person to person contact, or via contaminated objects or aerosols is also common. Norovirus is commonly found in sewage-contaminated water, thus filter-feeding shellfish such as oysters are more susceptible to contamination. Norovirus does not multiply in food, however, it can survive freezing temperature. Consuming raw oysters, whether chilled or frozen, poses the risk of contracting norovirus infection.

The incubation period for norovirus infection is usually between 24 and 48 hours. The infection tends to be mild and self-limiting characterized by vomiting, non-bloody diarrhoea, abdominal cramps, nausea, and sometimes lowgrade fever. Norovirus is highly contagious; its infective dose can be as low as ten viral particles. Norovirus is causing increasing public health concern in recent years both locally and internationally. In the United States , it is thought that at least 50% of all foodborne outbreaks of gastroenteritis are attributed to norovirus whereas the virus ranked one of the top five food poisoning organisms locally in recent years. Owing to the fact that the number of viral particles is low and that it may vary from one shellfish to another, it is often difficult to detect the virus in food samples related to foodborne outbreaks.

Graph: Number of norovirus food poisoning outbreaks related to consumption of oysters and persons affected, 2001 – 2006 (as of 2 November 2006 )

Source of data: Centre for Health Protection, Department of Health, Hong Kong

Advice to the Trade

Members of the trade should obtain shellfish including oysters for raw consumption from reliable sources, and should ensure that the shellfish is fit for human consumption. All shellfish should be properly handled to minimize risk of contamination.

Advice to the Public

The public should beware that the consumption of raw shellfish is a high risk behaviour, and that raw shellfish should only be consumed in or obtained from reputable licensed premises. Susceptible population (e.g. young children, elderly people, pregnant women and persons with weakened immune systems) should avoid consumption of raw shellfish. Thorough cooking is an effective way to ensure food safety.

Further Information

For readers who are interested in learning more about norovirus and the incident, please visit the following web pages for further information.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :10-04-2008

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印

食物安全焦点(二零零六年十一月第四期)-焦点个案

食物安全中心调查与同一供应商的生蚝有关的食物中毒个案

食物安全中心
食物事故应变及管理小组傅玉清医生及
风险传达组科学主任郭丽仪女士及游天颂先生
联合报告

事故摘要

食物安全中心 ( 中心)于二零零六年九月及十月,就多宗怀疑食物中毒个案迅速展开源头调查,该些个案均与进食生蚝而引致的诺沃克病毒感染吻合。在确定生蚝来自同一供应商后,中心要求有关供应商停止分销声称来自智利的有关生蚝,并提供分销资料。在缺乏有关资料以保障市民健康的情况下,中心遂公开事件,呼吁业界提高警觉。在采取管制措施后,本港再无出现新个案。

插图:生蚝

中心为控制感染情况而采取的行动

在决定拟采取的必要行动时,保障市民健康和公众利益是主要考虑因素。我们曾考虑以下因素: ( i ) 临牀及流行病学资料显示,这些食物中毒的爆发,是跟由生蚝引致的诺沃克病毒食物中毒爆发吻合; ( ii ) 在相关的食肆调查并没有发现其他导致个案发生的环境卫生因素或除了生蚝以外的其他可疑食物;以及 ( iii ) 有关的生蚝批次均源自同一供应商。

在调查期间,我们发现其中一名患者的粪便样本对诺沃克病毒测试呈阳性反应。此外,调查工作还包括收集蚝样本作测试,结果并无验出诺沃克病毒。尽管如此,阴性结果不能证明患者进食的生蚝批次没有受诺沃克病毒污染。

诺沃克病毒的特点

诺沃克病毒主要是经由吃下或饮用受粪便污染的食物或水传播,但亦可经由人与人直接接触或受污染物质或微粒传播。诺沃克病毒常见于受污水污染的水,因此以过滤水中微生物作食物的贝类海产如蚝较易受到污染。诺沃克病毒虽然不会在食物中繁殖,但能够在冰点下的低温生存。因此进食冰鲜或冷藏生蚝均可能会感染诺沃克病毒。

诺沃克病毒感染的潜伏期通常为 24 至 48 小时,患者病情多属轻微及短暂,病征为呕吐、非出血性腹泻、腹绞痛和恶心,有时也会出现低烧。诺沃克病毒的传染性非常高,少至十个病毒便可传播疾病。近年,此病毒在本港和其他地方造成愈来愈多的公众健康问题。诺沃克病毒在美国相信导致至少 50% 的食源性肠胃病事故,而在本港近年亦成为五大食物中毒致病菌之一。由于病毒的数量很少,加上每一贝类海产动物沾有的数量可能有差异,因此往往难以在食源性事故涉及的食物样本中验出诺沃克病毒。

图表: 与进食蚝有关的诺沃克病毒食物中毒事故次数及受影响人数 ( 由二零零一年至二零零六年十一月二日 )

资料来源:香港卫生署卫生防护中心

给业界的建议

业界人士应向可靠的来源采购贝类海产,包括专供生吃的蚝,并应确保贝类海产适宜供人食用。所有贝类海产均应妥善处理,以减低受污染的风险。

给市民的建议

市民应注意,生吃贝类海产是高风险行为,他们只应在信誉良好的持牌店铺进食或选购生的贝类海产。高风险人士 ( 例如幼童、长者、孕妇和免疫力较弱的人 ) 应避免进食生的贝类海产。彻底煮熟所有贝类海产是确保其食用安全的有效方法。

读者如有兴趣更深入了解诺沃克病毒和此事件,请登入下列相关网页。

● 由中心编制的 “ 诺沃克类病毒知多少”单张
● 由中心编制的 “ 配制生吃食物卫生守则” 单张
● 由中心编制的 “ 海产食物要卫生大家都要多关心” 单张
● 由中心发出的 新闻公报

.

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 10-04-2008