Import Control and Food Safety Guidelines

Food Recall Guidelines

Contents

IntroductionThe LegislationRole of the GovernmentRole of the Food IndustryInitiation of a RecallNotification to the Food and Environmental Hygiene DepartmentInforming the ConsumerAssessment of the RecallRemoval from ShelvesProduct RecoveryFollow-up ActionConclusion

APPENDIX

Food Recall Notification FormFood Recall ProceduresFood Recall Notification

Introduction

Introduction

Legislation

Role of the Government

Role of the Food Industry

Initiation of a Recall

Notification to the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department

For transparency and best protection of public health, food traders should immediately notify the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department of the cause of recall together with any opinions on the risk to public health and safety and the proposed actions to be taken by completing the 'Voluntary Food Recall Notification Form' as provided at Appendix A. Such information should be provided to the Department by fax (fax no. 2521 4784) or email (Food_Recall_Notification@fehd.gov.hk). Any enquiries about recall procedures or actual cases of recall should be directed to the Superintendent (Food Surveillance)1 of the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department at tel. no. 2867 5567 or staff of this department at tel. no. 9867 8401 during non office hours for enquiry.

Informing the Consumer

Depending on the extent of the recall, the trader concerned should inform the consumer of the recall at the earliest possible moment. Information dissemination may take the form of a press release, letter to the concerned parties, paid advertisement in the media, making public announcement and putting up posters in stores for receiving the food concerned from customers. Sufficient telephone hotline service should be made available to deal with enquiries.

Assessment of the Recall

Food and Environmental Hygiene Department may assess the adequacy of the traders action, including the following:

  1. prompt announcement of recall/ prohibition of supply or import through the media;
  2. setting up of customer enquiry service;
  3. agreement amongst the importers, distributors and retailers on recall/ prohibition of supply or import arrangement, such as convenient and adequate locations for return of the food concerned;
  4. the promptness in withdrawing the food concerned from shelves at retail end and proper storage of food in locations which are inaccessible by the customers pending return to warehouse of importers or distributors;
  5. the promptness in returning the food withdrawn to the warehouse of importers or distributors and the appropriate way of disposal;
  6. whether proper record of the recalled food is kept by traders concerned; and
  7. the investigation into the cause of defect and the remedial action taken (investigation report with improvement measures to be submitted to Food and Environmental Hygiene Department).

Removal from shelves

Product Recovery

Products may be recovered by return to supermarkets, return via distribution chains or direct return from consumers. The product is to be recovered to a central site, or in the case of widely distributed product, to major recovery sites. The recovered product must be stored in an area which is separated from any other food product. Accurate records are to be kept of the amount of recovered product and the batch codes of the product recovered. After recovery, products may be corrected or reprocessed before release to the market if it is fit for human consumption. Otherwise the product is to be destroyed.

Follow-up Action

Conclusion

Worldwide, cooperation between the food traders and the regulatory authority has proven over the years to be the quickest and most reliable method to remove potentially dangerous products from the market. These guidelines outline the procedures which would enhance efficiency and transparency in the recall of food products. The implementation of such guidelines will hopefully minimize the loss inflicted on the traders and the community at large.

A flow chart summarizing the procedures to be followed in a voluntary food recall is at Appendix B.

食 物 入 口 管 制 及 安 全 指 引

食 品 回 收 指 引

目 录

引 言 法 例 政 府 担 当 的 角 色 食 品 商 担 当 的 角 色 发 起 回 收 行 动 知 会 食 物 环 境 卫 生 署 通 知 消 费 者 评 估 回 收 行 动 把 食 品 下 架 收 回 产 品 跟 进 工 作 总 结

附 录

食 品 回 收 通 知 书 食 品 回 收 程 序 食 品 回 收 通 知

引 言

引 言

法 例

政 府 担 当 的 角 色

食 物 业 担 当 的 角 色

发 起 回 收 行 动

知 会 食 环 署

为保持透明度和保障公众健康,食品商应立即通知食环署回收食品的原因,并解释食品会如何危害公众健康和安全,以及说明拟采取的行动。有关食品商可填妥附件A的"自愿食品回收通知书",然后透过传真(传真号码:2521 4784 )或电邮( Food_Recall_Notification@fehd.gov.hk )方式向食环署提供上述资料。如欲查询有关回收程序或实际回收个案的资料,请直接致电2867 5567 与食环署总监(食物监察)1或于非办公时间致电9867 8401向本署职员查询。

通 知 消 费 者

视乎实际情况,食品商应尽快将回收行动通知消费者。有关食品商可透过发出新闻稿、致函有关各方、自费在传媒刊登∕播放广告、作出公告、在店铺张贴关于向顾客收回有关食品的告示等方式,公布回收消息。此外,亦应设有足够的热线电话服务,以解答查询。

评 估 回 收 行 动

食环署会评估食品商所采取的行动是否足够,包括:

  1. 迅速透过传媒公布回收∕禁止供应或进口的行动;
  2. 设立顾客查询服务的情况;
  3. 入口商、分销商与零售商是否已就回收∕禁止供应或进口安排达成协议,例如回收有关食物的地点是否足够,而且方便;
  4. 零售点的有关食物是否迅速下架及适当存放在顾客不可进入的地方,以待退回入口商或分销商仓库;
  5. 下架的食物是否已迅速退回入口商或分销商的货仓,以及处置方法是否恰当;
  6. 有关的食品商有否妥为记录已收回的食物;以及
  7. 调查出现问题的原因,并采取补救行动(食品商向食环署提交调查报告,并建议改善措施)。

把 食 品 下 架

收 回 产 品

食品商采取回收行动时,可通知消费者将食品交回超级市场,或透过分销连锁店交回,或自行直接交回供应商。有待回收的产品,应集中在一处中央地点收回,如果分销范围广阔,则应分布在几处主要地点收回。收回的产品应存放在与其他食品分隔开的地方;收回产品的数量和生产批次编号亦须加以准确记录。收回的产品如果仍然适宜食用,则可加以改良或加工,然后重新推出市场,如果不适宜食用,则须加以毁灭。

跟 进 工 作

回收行动如要收效,有关行动的通告必须遍达产品分销的每一个角落。该项行动的有效程度,是以收回产品的数量占已离开制造工场的产品数量的百分比评估,并会计算该批产品的零售销量。

总 结

根据世界各地多年以来的经验,如要最快速地和最有效地从市场上撤回可能危害健康的食品,食品商与规管当局之间必须通力合作。这份指引所载的程序可提高食品回收行动的效率和透明度。希望实施这些程序能令有关食品商及公众所蒙受的损失和损害减至最低程度。

进行自愿食品回收时所应采取的程序,请见附录B的流程图。