Import Control/Export Certification Print Friendly

Guide to Import of Game, Meat, Poultry and Eggs into Hong Kong

Purpose

The purpose of this guide is to provide general guidance for importers who wish to import game, meat, poultry and eggs into Hong Kong.

 

Statutory Requirements for Food Safety

2. In Hong Kong, the legal framework of food safety control is laid down in Part V of Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (PHMSO), Cap. 132 and its subsidiary legislation. A list of the subsidiary legislation is at Appendix A. The basic requirement, as stipulated in Section 54 of the Ordinance, is that no food intended for sale should be unfit for human consumption. Specifically, Imported Game, Meat, Poultry and Eggs Regulations (IGMPER) of the Ordinance stipulate requirements for import of such foods.

3. Importers can purchase the main Ordinance and its subsidiary legislation from the Publications Sales Unit at Room 626, 6/F, North Point Government Offices, 333 Java Road, North Point, Hong Kong. Importers may also browse the website
(https://www.elegislation.gov.hk/?_lang=en) for the Hong Kong food legislation.

 

Food and Environmental Hygiene Department

4. Food and Environmental Hygiene Department of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region is responsible for implementing territory-wide policies of food safety control and enforcing the food legislation. To this end, part of its duties is to exercise the power provided under Section 62(1) of PHMSO to collect food samples at points of entry to the territory for analyses, including microbiological examinations and chemical analyses.

5. Food and Environmental Hygiene Department will pay the market price of any samples taken from importers. Due to difficulties in ascertaining the price at entry points, the Department will issue a sampling notice to importers when samples are collected. The notice will specify items and quantities of food samples which have been taken. Importers could send an invoice and a copy of the notice afterwards to the Department for payment.

 

Import Licence

6. Under the Import and Export Ordinance, Cap. 60, import of frozen or chilled beef, mutton, pork and poultry is subject to import licensing control. Food and Environmental Hygiene Department is responsible for issuing import licences for these foods. For details, please refer to the "Guide to Application for Import Licence for Frozen Meat, Chilled Meat, Frozen Poultry and Chilled Poultry" issued by Food and Environmental Hygiene Department.  

 

Importers

7. Food importers, through close liaison with exporting countries, are responsible for ensuring that game, meat, poultry and eggs they procure comply with the local legislation. To ensure hygienic standards of the foods, specific import procedures have been made for these foods as set out in paragraphs 8 to 12 below. The Food Safety Ordinance (Chapter 612) has commenced its full operation on 1 February 2012. Sections 4 and 5 of the Ordinance require any person who carries on a food importation/ distribution business to register with Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene (DFEH) as a food importer/ food distributor.

Registration scheme for food importers and food distributors

 

Import of Meat, Poultry or Eggs

8. Regulation 4(1)(a) of IGMPER requires meat , poultry or eggs to be imported with a health certificate issued by an issuing entity recognised by Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene. A list of these issuing entities is at Appendix B. If importers wish to import meat , poultry or eggs from a country/place where the issuing entity responsible for issuing health certificates is yet to be recognised as an issuing entity, they should ask the relevant issuing entity or government to apply to Food and Environmental Hygiene Department in writing and provide the following information related to its country:

(a) the animal disease situation;
(b) the legislation governing hygienic standards of meat, poultry or eggs;
(c) the location of processing plants and facilities for handling, processing, production, storage and transport of meat, poultry or eggs;
(d) details of inspection of meat or poultry in the ante and post-mortem process and qualifications of officers responsible for the inspection process;
(e) a sample of the official veterinary and health certificate; and
(f) the official name of the issuing entity responsible for issuing veterinary and health certificates.

Recognised issuing entities regarding the import of meat, poultry or eggs

 

Import of Prohibited Meat or Game

9. Regulation 4(1)(b) of IGMPER requires prior approval of Food and Environmental Hygiene Department before the import of each consignment of prohibited meat or game. In making an application for approval, importers should write to the Department by providing similar information as set out in paragraphs 8 (a) to (f) but pertaining to prohibited meat or game obtained from the government of the place of origin.

 

Transhipment of meat, poultry or eggs

10. Regulation 4(3)(b) of IGMPER allows the Department to impose directions related to the import of game, meat, poultry or eggs. At present, importers should make an application in writing to the Department before each consignment of transhipped meat, poultry or eggs is imported. In making the application, the following information should be provided:

 

(a) a health certificate issued by an issuing entity; and
(b) when meat , poultry or eggs is not conveyed in a sealed refrigerated container, a transhipment certificate issued by an authority having the power under the laws in force in the place outside Hong Kong showing the meat , poultry or eggs was properly imported into that country/place and, during its stay there, did not suffer any spoilage or deterioration.

 

Arrival of Consignment

11. Under the power provided by Regulation 4(3)(b) of IGMPER, Food and Environmental Hygiene Department requires all game, meat, poultry and eggs to be entered through Man Kam To checkpoint if the import is via land, or the International Airport of Hong Kong if the import is via air. At these checkpoints, the food concerned may be subject to inspection or sampling by the Department. If the import is via sea, the importers may be required, if circumstances warrant, to keep the game, meat or poultry at a licensed cold store or a registered cold storage for inspection or sampling. If the result is satisfactory, the Department will issue a "release letter" to the importer. For the list of licensed cold stores, please refer to Appendix I to “Guide to Application for Import Licence for Frozen Meat, Chilled Meat, Frozen Poultry and Chilled Poultry”.

 

Performance Pledge

12. Food and Environmental Hygiene Department is determined to provide quality service to the public, including importers, and pledges to process applications for the import of game, meat, poulty or eggs within 5 working days.

 

Where to make applications or enquiries?

13. Applications related to the import of game, meat, poultry and eggs and payment of samples should be addressed to the Centre for Food Safety of Food and Environmental Hygiene Department at 43/F, Queensway Government Offices, 66 Queensway, Hong Kong. For enquiries, please feel free to call the Department's Chief Health Inspector (Import/Export)2 at 2867 5531 or other staff at 2867 5577.

* The word "chilled" in this Guide refers to the pre-chilling process of food with subsequent storage at a temperature between 0℃ and 4℃ .

Centre for Food Safety
Food and Environmental Hygiene Department

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 02-11-2017

进口管制/出口验证 友善列印

香港入口野味、肉类、家禽及蛋类指引

目的

这份文件的目的是为香港的野味、肉类、家禽或蛋类进口商提供概括性的指引。

 

法例规定

2.香港用以监管食物安全的法律条文,载于香港法例第132章《公众卫生及巿政条例》第V部及其附属法例。有关的附属法例,现列于本文的附录A。法例的基本规定,就是如《公众卫生及巿政条例》第54条所载,禁止出售不宜供人食用的食物。有关野味、肉类、家禽及蛋类的特别准则和规定,则载于上述条例的《进口野味、肉类、家禽及蛋类规例》。

3.进口商可前往香港北角渣华道333号北角政府合署6楼626室刊物销售小组购买上述条例及有关附属法例的文本,以作查阅。进口商亦可浏览网页 (https://www.elegislation.gov.hk/?_lang=sc) 下载有关法例

 

食 物 环 境 卫 生 署

4.食物环境卫生署是负责实施食物安全监管政策和执行有关法例的政府部门。其工作包括行使《公众卫生及巿政条例》第62(1)条所赋予的权力,从各进口检查站的进口食物中抽取样本作微生物检验和化学分析等,确保食物安全。

5.食物环境卫生署在抽取食物样本后,会按巿价计算样本的价值发还给进口商。由于食物的巿价难以在进口时评定,本署人员抽取样本时,会发给进口商一份通知,列明所抽取样本的品目和数量,而进口商事后可凭这份通知和有关样本的发票,向食物环境卫生署申请索还被抽去样本的市价。

 

 

进口许可证

6.根据香港法例第60章《进出口条例》,进口冷藏或冷冻(冰鲜)牛肉、羊肉、猪肉和家禽,须受签证条件管制,而负责签发这类进口许可证的,则是食物环境卫生署。进口商欲知详情,可索取和查阅由食物环境卫生署发出的《冷藏肉类、冰鲜肉类、冷藏家禽和冰鲜家禽进口许可证申请指引》。

 

进口商

7.食物进口商有责任与出口当地保持紧密联系,确保所输入的野味、肉类、家禽或蛋类符合香港法例的规定。进口商尤须注意下文第8至第12段所载有关确保输入野味、肉类、家禽或蛋类符合卫生标准的指定程序。《食物安全条例》(第612章)于2012年2月1日全面生效,该条例第4和第5条规定,任何经营食物进口/分销业务的人须向食环署署长登记为食物进口商/食物分销商。

食物进口商和食物分销商登记制度

 

进口肉类、家禽或蛋类

8.《进口野味、肉类、家禽及蛋类规例》第4(1)(a)条规定:进口的肉类、家禽或蛋类必须附有食物环境卫生署署长认可的发证实体所签发的卫生证明书。经食物环境卫生署署长认可的发证实体名单载于附录B。进口商若拟从某处地方输入肉类、家禽或蛋类,而该地方负责发出卫生证明书的发证实体尚未成为经认可的发证实体,则须请该发证实体或政府以书面向食物环境卫生署提出申请,并须提供下列有关该地的资料:

(a)动物疾病情况;
(b)用以规管肉类、家禽或蛋类卫生标准的法例;
(c)加工处理厂的地点,以及接触、加工处理、生产、贮藏和运送肉类、家禽或蛋类的设施;
(d)肉类或家禽在屠宰前及屠宰后的检验程序细节,以及负责检验工作人员的资历;
(e)官方发出的兽医证明书及卫生证明书式样;及
(f)负责发出兽医证明书及卫生证明书的发证实体的正式名称。

进口肉类、家禽或蛋类的认可发证实体名单

 

进口违禁肉类或野味

9.《进口野味、肉类、家禽及蛋类规例》第4(1)(b)条规定,进口每一批违禁的肉类或野味之前,均须取得食物环境卫生署的批准。进口商可以书面向食物环境卫生署提出申请,并提供由违禁肉类或野味来源地政府取得有关第8(a)至(f)段所列的资料。

 

经转运进口的肉类、或家禽或蛋类

10.《进口野味、肉类、家禽及蛋类规例》第4(3)(b)条授权食物环境卫生署就进口野味、肉类、家禽或蛋类方面发出指令。食物环境卫生署目前规定,进口商每次输入肉类、家禽或蛋类至香港之前,均须以书面向该署提出申请,并提供下列资料:

(a)经认可的发证实体主管当局所签发的卫生证明书;
(b)假若肉类、家禽或蛋类并非用密封的冰冻容器盛载运送,则须附上一份转运证明书,该证明书是根据转运地的现行法例,由有关的机关发出,证明该等肉类、家禽或蛋类是正当地输入该地,而且在该地停留期间并没有腐坏或变坏。
 

抵港货物

11.食物环境卫生署根据《进口野味、肉类、家禽及蛋类规例》第4(3)(b)条赋予的权力,规定所有从陆路进口的野味、肉类、家禽或蛋类必须经文锦渡检查站输入,而空运进口的野味、肉类、家禽或蛋类则必须经香港国际机场输入。有关食物运抵这些检查站时,可能须要接受食物环境卫生署的检查或抽取样本化验。至于由海路进口的货物,食物环境卫生署可视乎情况所需,要求进口商将野味、肉类或家禽贮存在持牌冻房或已登记的冷藏库,以等候检查或抽样化验;如结果满意,本署会给进口商签发「货物放行书」,将货物放行。持牌冻房的名单可参阅《冷藏肉类、冰鲜肉类、冷藏家禽和冰鲜家禽进口许可证申请指引》的附录 I

 

服务承诺

12.食物环境卫生署一向致力为巿民提供优质的服务,包括进口商,更承诺在5个工作天内办妥批准进口野味、肉类、家禽或蛋类的申请。

 

申请及查询

13.进口商若拟输入野味、肉类、家禽或蛋类或索还被抽去样本的巿价,可向香港金钟道政府合署43楼食物环境卫生署食物安全中心提出申请。如有查询,请致电2867 5531食物环境卫生署总卫生督察(进/出口)2 或其他工作人员(电话:2867 5577)。

*本指引中“冰鲜”chilled)(亦称冷冻)一词是指食物经预冷工序处理后再保存于摄氏0度至4度。

食物环境卫生署
食物安全中心

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 31-05-2017