1. Why are preservatives and antioxidants added to food?

Preservatives are added to food so as to prevent or slow down the growth of micro-organism, such as moulds, yeasts and bacteria in food. Preservatives can inhibit, retard or arrest the process of fermentation, acidification or other deterioration of food.

Antioxidants are added to food so as to protect food from turning rancid or changing colour. Antioxidants can delay, retard or prevent food from deterioration due to oxidation .

2. What are the commonly used preservatives and what kinds of foods usually contain them?

Sulphur dioxide, sorbic acid and benzoic acid are examples of some commonly used preservatives. Sulphur dioxide is usually added to dried fruit, pickled vegetables and sausages to inhibit the growth of yeasts and bacteria and to preserve the colour of some fruits such as apricots and raisins . Sorbic acid can be found in cheese and wine in order to retard the growth of moulds while soft drinks and ketchup may contain benzoic acid for inhibiting the growth of yeasts and moulds.

3. How can I know if preservative or antioxidant is added to food?

According to the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations, the functional class and the names or numbers in the International Numbering System for Food Additives (INS) of the preservative or antioxidant can be found in the ingredient list of most prepackaged food. Sometimes, the prefix "E" or "e" may be added.

For instance, if sulphur dioxide is added to the food as a preservative, it has to be labelled in the ingredient list as either

To check the INS number of some of the permitted preservatives and antioxidants in Hong Kong, you may visit the following link: http://www.cfs.gov.hk/english/whatsnew/whatsnew_fstr/files/ins_list_num_order.pdf

4. How are preservatives and antioxidants regulated in Hong Kong?

In Hong Kong, most food safety related rules and regulations are contained in Part V of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance, Cap. 132. The Ordinance stipulates that all food on sale must be wholesome, unadulterated and fit for human consumption. There is also a set of subsidiary legislation which spells out the standards for specific food products or substances allowed in food. The control on the use of preservatives and antioxidants in food is governed by the Preservatives in Food Regulation, Cap. 132BD, which stipulate that any food being imported, manufactured for sale, or sold should only contain permitted preservatives or antioxidants and in the proportion that does not exceed the maximum permitted levels. Details of the legislation are available at the website www.elegislation.gov.hk.

5. Is it safe to consume food containing preservatives and antioxidants?

At the permitted level of use and under normal level of consumption, food containing preservatives and antioxidants would not lead to health problems. However, people with allergic conditions, such as asthma patients, may experience hypersensitive reaction to certain preservatives such as sulphur dioxide in food. Such consumers should read the ingredient list to see whether those preservatives or anti-oxidants that they are allergic to are used in the food.

6. What can consumers do in order to prevent consumption of excessive preservatives and antioxidants from food?

They should

7. What can the food trade do to ensure preservatives and antioxidants being used are safe for human consumption?

They should

8. What can I do if I want to know more about Preservatives in Food Regulation?

You may visit the following link to know more about the Regulation
http://www.cfs.gov.hk/english/whatsnew/whatsnew_fstr/files/User_Guideline_e.pdf

常见的问题 友善列印

有 关 食 物 内 防 腐 剂 的 常 见 问 题 ( 公 众 篇 )

1.为什么在食物中加入防腐剂及抗氧化剂?

食物中加入防腐剂,可防止或减慢霉菌、酵母菌和细菌等微生物在食物中生长。防腐剂可抑制、减慢或遏止食物的发酵、发酸或其他变坏过程。

而食物中加入抗氧化剂,可免食物发出酸败气味或变色。抗氧化剂可延迟、减慢或防止食物因氧化作用而变坏。

2.哪些是常用的防腐剂?哪类食物通常会有这些防腐剂?

常用的防腐剂有二氧化硫、山梨酸及苯甲酸等。二氧化硫通常加入凉果、腌菜及香肠中,以抑制酵母菌及细菌的生长,并保存水果(例如杏或提子干)的颜色。山梨酸会用于芝士和酒类中,以减慢霉菌的生长。至于苯甲酸,则可能用于汽水和茄汁中,以抑制酵母菌及霉菌的生长。

3.我如何知道食物是否加入了防腐剂或抗氧化剂?

根据《食物及药物(成分组合及标签)规例》,大部分预先包装食物会在配料表上列出防腐剂或抗氧化剂的作用类别,以及其名称或在「食物添加剂国际编码系统」中的编号,有时还会加上“E”或“e”为词头。

例如,二氧化硫如加入食物中作为防腐剂,须在配料表上标示:

  • 防腐剂(二氧化硫)或
  • 防腐剂(220)或
  • 防腐剂(E220)或
  • 防腐剂(e220)
要查看在本港的准许使用的防腐剂及抗氧化剂的在「食物添加剂国际编码系统」中的编号,请登入下列连结: http://www.cfs.gov.hk/english/whatsnew/whatsnew_fstr/files/ins_list_num_order.pdf

4.本港如何规管防腐剂及抗氧化剂?

在香港,与食物安全有关的规则和规例大都纳入《公众卫生及市政条例》(第132章) 第V部。该条例订明, 所有出售的食物必须合乎卫生、无杂质和适宜人类食用。另外, 还有多条附属法例具体列明个别食物的标准或食物可含有的物质。在食物内使用的防腐剂及抗氧化剂是受《食物内防腐剂规例》(第132 BD章)规管的。第132 BD章订明任何进口、为出售而制造或供出售的食物只可含有指明的准许防腐剂或抗氧化剂及其分量不可超过最高准许含量。有关法例的详细内容载于www.elegislation.gov.hk 网站。

5.进食含有防腐剂或抗氧化剂的食物是否安全?

在符合准许含量和根据一般进食量的情况下,含有防腐剂或抗氧化剂的食物不会引起健康问题。不过,敏感人士(例如哮喘病人)可能会对食物中的某些防腐剂(例如二氧化硫)出现过敏反应。这类消费者应阅读配料表,看看食物是否含有可令他们出现过敏反应的防腐剂或抗氧化剂。

6.消费者如何避免从饮食中摄入过量的防腐剂或抗氧化剂?

他们应:

  • 保持均衡饮食,以免因偏吃少种类食物而过量摄入某些防腐剂或抗氧化剂;
  • 向可靠的店铺购买食物;以及
  • 仔细阅读预先包装食物上的标签,以确定哪些食物含有防腐剂或抗氧化剂,敏感人士尤须注意这一点。

7.食物业如何确保所使用的防腐剂或抗氧化剂可供人安全食用?

他们应:

  • 遵从《食物内防腐剂规例》(包括在食物中使用的防腐剂种类及最高准许含量);
  • 奉行优良制造规范,只会在食物中添加能发挥预期技术用途所需的最低分量;以及
  • 向可靠的供应商采购食物和配料。

8.我如何得知《食物内防腐剂规例》的详情?

如欲了解《食物内防腐剂规例》的详情,请登入下列连结: http://www.cfs.gov.hk/sc_chi/whatsnew/whatsnew_fstr/files/User_Guideline_c.pdf

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 28-02-2017