Frequently Asked Questions Print Friendly

Pesticide Residues in Food

1. Which of the Government Department is responsible for the control of food safety, including the control of pesticide residues in food in Hong Kong?

In Hong Kong, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) of the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department is responsible for the overall safety of food. The Administration has made the Pesticide Residues in Food Regulation (Cap. 132CM) (“the Regulation”). The Legislative Council has completed its scrutiny of the Regulation in June 2012 and the Regulation came into operation on 1 August 2014.

2. What is pesticide?


In broad sense, pesticide is any substance or mixture of substances intended for preventing, destroying, repelling or mitigating pests. Classes of pesticides commonly used in crops growing include insecticides (to control insect infestations), fungicides (to control the spread of fungal diseases) and herbicides (to control the competing effects of weeds). The term includes substances intended for use as a plant growth regulator, defoliant, desiccant, fruit thinning agent, or sprouting inhibitor and substances applied to crops either before or after harvest to protect the commodity from deterioration during storage and transport.

3. Why would pesticide residues appear in food?


Pesticide residues may be present in food because of the following reasons:

  • direct use of pesticides on food crops;
  • animal feeding on pesticide-treated feed; or
  • environmental contamination

Common use of pesticides in modern farming might leave some residues on food crops.

4. Why would food contain excessive pesticide residues?

Excessive pesticide residues in food may arise from the trade not observing good agricultural practice, e.g. the use of excessive pesticide and not allowing sufficient time for pesticide to decompose before harvesting.

5. Should I take less vegetables as they may contain pesticide residues?

The use of pesticide might leave some residues on food crops. However, if pesticide is used in accordance with good agricultural practice, the residual level would be low and consumption of these vegetables will not affect health. Furthermore, vegetables are an essential component of a healthy diet. You are advised to take a balanced diet and eat a variety of fruits and vegetables so as to avoid excessive exposure to pesticide residues from a small range of food items.

6. Would my health be affected if I consume food containing excessive pesticide residues?

The adverse effects of pesticide residues depend on the nature of the pesticide, as well as the amount and duration of exposure. Eating food with excessive pesticide residues may cause acute and/or chronic adverse health effects. Symptoms of acute poisoning include vomiting, diarrhoea, abdominal pain, dizziness and numbness. In severe cases, people may even have difficulties in breathing, blurred vision and convulsion. Prolonged excessive intakes of pesticide residues have been shown to cause damage to the nervous system or other organs such as liver and kidneys, as well as affect foetal development in animals.

7. Have international authorities assessed the safety of pesticides and established safety standards?

The Joint Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) / World Health Organization (WHO) Meeting on Pesticide Residues (JMPR) is responsible for evaluating the safety of pesticides and estimating safety reference values (i.e. Acceptable Daily Intake (ADI)) for individual pesticide.

8. Would my health be affected if the level of pesticide residue intake in a meal exceeds the ADI?

The ADI of a chemical is the estimate of the amount of a substance in food or drinking-water, expressed on a body-weight basis, that can be ingested daily over a lifetime without appreciable health risk to the consumer. Occasional dietary intake above the ADI does not automatically mean that health is at risk, as ADI is developed based on one’s lifetime exposure.

9. Are there any international standards on pesticide residues in food?

In order to protect the health of the consumer while facilitating international trade, the Codex Alimentarius Commission (Codex) has established Maximum Residue Limits (MRLs) for individual pesticide in selected food commodities. MRL is the maximum concentration of a pesticide residue to be legally permitted in a food commodity. The primary objective of setting MRLs is to encourage the trade to observe Good Agricultural Practice (GAP) to ensure that only the minimum amount of pesticide is applied to food for achieving pest control need, thereby protecting the health of consumer.

Codex MRLs are established on the basis of appropriate residue data obtained mainly from supervised field trials. Supervised trials are scientific studies in which pesticides are applied to crops or animals in the way which is intended to reflect commercial practice according to GAP. GAP is a set of nationally authorised conditions to use the pesticide safely (e.g. in relation to public health and environmental safety concerns) for effective and reliable pest control.

10. Does eating food with pesticide residues exceeding MRLs constitute an immediate health risk?

Eating food with pesticide residue exceeding MRL does not automatically imply a hazard to health provided the dietary exposure to that particular pesticide falls within the safety reference value. A distinction needs to be made here between MRLs and safety reference values, i.e., ADI for chronic toxicity or Acute Reference Dose (ARfD) for acute toxicity. Even though the primary purpose of setting MRLs in food is to protect the health of consumers and the levels are intended to be toxicologically acceptable (i.e., unlikely to cause acute or chronic toxicities in humans), the MRL is not an equivalent of and should not be taken as a safety reference value per se.

11. Media sometime reported that some vegetable samples were found to contain prohibited pesticides. Does it mean that there is a problem in the control of pesticide use?

For some pesticides that have been banned or are no longer in use (e.g. DDT, lindane), trace amount of their residues and metabolites may be present in food as environmental contaminants because of their persistence in nature. As such, if the level of these pesticides detected is not high, it does not necessarily reflect that they are still being used in agriculture. Cap.132CM stipulated "extraneous maximum residue limits" (EMRLs) for some of these persistent pesticides.

12. How does CFS monitor and control the level of pesticide residues in vegetables on sale in Hong Kong ?

CFS operates a Food Surveillance Programme and regularly takes food samples including fruits, vegetables and cereals at import, wholesale and retail levels for testing. Most of the vegetables on sale in Hong Kong come from the Mainland. CFS has a Food Control Office at Man Kam To and examines vegetable consignments imported from the Mainland. Under the current administrative arrangement, only vegetables from farms and processing establishments registered with the General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine (AQSIQ) of the People’s Republic of China will be allowed for export to Hong Kong. When the vegetable vehicles reach Man Kam To Food Control Office, CFS will check the seal, examine the vegetables and verify the export document of each vegetable consignment and, if necessary, take samples of vegetables for testing of pesticide residues. In addition, CFS would also collect vegetable samples at the wholesale and retail levels for testing of pesticide residues.

13. What will CFS do if they find that the vegetable consignment does not tally with its accompanying export document?

If CFS finds any vegetable consignment does not tally with its accompanying export document, the consignment of vegetables will be detained for detailed inspection and relevant Mainland authorities will be notified for follow-up actions. If any vegetable sample is tested to be unsatisfactory, CFS will destroy the vegetable consignment concerned and inform the relevant Mainland authorities of the analysis result. CFS will also record the information of the vegetable processing establishment concerned as well as vegetable vehicle involved for detention and sampling of the subsequent vegetable consignment to Hong Kong. The consignment will only be released upon receipt of satisfactory testing result.

14. Does CFS monitor and control the level of pesticide residues in fruits on sale in Hong Kong ?

CFS operates the same Food Surveillance Programme to take samples of fruits at import, wholesale and retail levels. The samples will be tested for pesticide residues. This ensures that fruits on sale in the markets are safe and fit for human consumption.

15. Why are there differences between the Government and other parties on the testing results of pesticide residues in food?

CFS follows the testing methods of pesticide residues recommended by Codex, e.g. conducting the test on the whole leafy vegetables after the removal of obviously decomposed or withered leaves. If only part of the vegetables such as leaves or outer skin of fruiting vegetables such as tomatoes are tested, the result may be different and cannot be compared with the relevant standards.

16. How can I reduce pesticide residues in vegetables?

You can wash vegetables and produces thoroughly under clean running water. When appropriate, scrub produces with hard surfaces with a clean produce brush to remove dirt and contaminants like pesticides from the surface and crevices.

17. Is washing vegetables under running water or soaking in water a better method to remove pesticide residues in vegetables?

Washing vegetables and produces thoroughly under clean running water is effective in reducing surface contaminants, including pesticide residues. Although soaking can also reduce pesticide residues in some studies, it will also cause loss of nutrients. As of the first quarter of 2017, CFS no longer recommend soaking vegetables in view of the low level of pesticide residues detected and no food poisoning incidents related to pesticide residues were reported in recent years. This position has been endorsed by the Expert Committee on Food Safety .

18. Will soaking or washing vegetables with water result in nutrient leaching?

Nutrients, especially water soluble vitamins, will leach out into water if vegetables are being soaked.

19. How should I handle fruits to reduce the intake of pesticide residues?

You can wash fruits thoroughly under clean running water. When appropriate, scrub produces with hard surfaces (e.g. melons) with a clean produce brush to remove dirt and contaminants like pesticide residues from the surface and crevices.

20. Is the use of detergent specialised for cleaning fruits and vegetables recommended?

Use of soaps, special detergents or produce washes is not recommended for cleaning produces.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 01-06-2017

常见的问题 友善列印

食 物 内 除 害 剂 残 余



1.香港哪个政府部门负责监管食物安全,包括食物中的除害剂残余?
在香港,食物环境卫生署辖下的食物安全中心负责监管所有食物的安全。政府已订立《食物内除害剂残余规例》(第132CM章)(《规例》)。立法会于二零一二年六月完成审议《规例》。《规例》已于二零一四年八月一日起实施。

2.什么是除害剂(俗称农药)?
从广义而言,除害剂指任何用于防治、杀灭、驱赶或减少有害生物的物质或混合物。在农作物生长期间常用的除害剂可以分为三类:用作控制虫害的除虫剂;用作控制真菌传播的除真菌剂;以及用作控制杂草竞生情况的除草剂。本词包括作为植物生长调节剂、落叶剂、干燥剂、疏果剂或发芽抑制剂的物质,以及在作物收割前后用来防止贮存和运输过程中产品腐败的物质。

3.为何除害剂残余会出现于食物内?
由于下列原因,食物内可能含有除害剂的残余:

  • 除害剂直接用于粮食作物;
  • 用经过除害剂处理的饲料喂饲食用动物;或
  • 因除害剂在环境造成的污染。

由于现代耕种经常使用除害剂,粮食作物可能会含有除害剂残余。

4.为何食物内的除害剂残余会过量?
食物内的除害剂残余过量可能是业界没有遵从优良务农规范,例如在农作物上使用过量除害剂及没有给予足够的时间让除害剂分解便进行收割。

5.由于蔬菜可能含有除害剂残余,我是否需要减少进食蔬菜?
除害剂的使用可能会令食物中含有少量除害剂的残余,但只要农民遵照优良务农规范使用除害剂,残余的含量便会低,亦不会对健康构成不良影响。再者,蔬菜是健康饮食中不可或缺的部份,所以,你应注意均衡饮食,进食各种蔬果,避免因偏食而摄入过量的除害剂残余。

6.吃下含有过量除害剂残余的食物对我们的健康有什么影响?
除害剂残余对市民健康的威胁,视乎除害剂的性质,以及摄入量和摄入期长短而定。过量摄入某些除害剂残余,可能对健康带来急性及/或慢性的不良影响。急性中毒的病征包括呕吐、腹泻、肚痛、晕眩和身体麻痹等。严重者更会呼吸困难、视力模糊和抽筋等。有资料显示长期摄入过量除害剂残余对动物的神经系统或其他器官(例如肝和肾等)造成损害,以及影响其胎儿发育。

7.国际间有否对除害剂的安全性作评估及制定安全标准?
联合国粮食及农业组织(粮农组织)/世界卫生组织(世卫)农药残留联合会议负责评估除害剂的安全,以及估计每种除害剂的安全参考值(即“每日可摄入量”)。

8.若于某一餐摄入除害剂残余的份量超过“每日可摄入量”,我的健康会受损吗?
化学物质的每日可摄入量,是按人体的体重计算,估计人于一生中每天从食物或食水摄入该化学物质而不致对健康带来风险的分量。从膳食摄入除害剂残余的分量偶然高于每日可摄入量,健康也不一定受到影响,因为每日可摄入量的制订是基于人一生摄入的分量作估算。

9.有关食物中的除害剂残余含量,有没有一些国际标准可供参考?
为保障消费者的健康和促进国际贸易,食品法典委员会为选定的食物厘定个别除害剂的“最高残余限量”。最高残余限量指食物中法定允许的最高除害剂残余浓度。厘定最高残余限量的主要目的,是鼓励业界施行优良务农规范,以确保为防治虫害而施用于食物的除害剂分量能减至最低,从而保障消费者的健康。

食品法典委员会主要根据从受监督的田间试验所得的合适残余物数据制定最高残余限量。受监督的田间试验是科学研究,过程中会适度把除害剂施用在农作物或动物身上,以反映遵照优良务农规范的商业做法。优良务农规范是一套安全施用除害剂(例如会顾及公众健康和环境安全因素)的国家认可规定,旨在有效和稳妥地防治虫害。

10.进食含超出 “最高残余限量” 除害剂的食物会否对健康构成即时的危害?
除害剂的摄入量只要在安全参考值之内,进食除害剂残余量超过最高残余限量的食物并不自动意味着对健康构成影响。最高残余限量和安全参考值(即与慢性毒性相关的每日可摄入量或与急性毒性相当的急性参考剂量)之间需要作出区别是,即使在食物中制定最高残余限量的主要目的是保护消费者的健康,以及确保除害剂的水平是在毒理方面可以接受的(即不会引起人类产生急性或慢性的毒性),最高残余限量并不等同,及本身不应该作为安全参考值。

11.传媒有时报道一些蔬菜样本发现含有禁用的除害剂,这是否表示在监管使用除害剂方面出现问题?
一些已禁用或不再使用的除害剂(如滴滴涕、林丹),本质上可长时间存留在环境中,食物因而可能含有微量这类属环境污染物的除害剂残余或其代谢物,因此,在蔬菜中检测到这些除害剂,如果含量不高,并不表示此等除害剂目前仍在农业上应用。《食物内除害剂残余规例》(第132CM章)已就部分可长时间存留在环境中的除害剂订定最高再残余限量。

12. 食物安全中心如何监管在本港售卖的蔬菜内的除害剂残余含量?
食物安全中心透过恒常的食物监察计划,在进口、批发及零售层面抽查食物样本,包括水果、蔬菜和谷物。在本港市面售卖的蔬菜大部分是由内地进口。食物安全中心在文锦渡设立了食品管制办事处,抽查内地入口的蔬菜。按照现时的行政安排,所有内地供港的蔬菜必须来自国家质量监督检验检疫总局(质检总局)名单上的供港蔬菜种植基地和收购加工企业。当供港蔬菜的货车在抵达文锦渡食品管制办事处,食物安全中心会查验供港蔬菜货车的封识、检查蔬菜和有关出货文件,以及有需要时抽取蔬菜样本进行除害剂残余测试。此外,食物安全中心亦会从批发及零售层面抽取蔬菜样本作除害剂残余测试。

13. 如食物安全中心发现蔬菜并非来自内地名单上的供港蔬菜种植基地或收购加工企业,会采取什么行动?
食物安全中心一旦发现任何蔬菜批次与付运文件不符合,便会扣检该批次的蔬菜及知会内地有关当局调查及跟进。若有关蔬菜样本的检测结果不合格,食物安全中心会销毁有关批次蔬菜,并通知内地有关当局检测的结果。食物安全中心亦会记录相关供港蔬菜加工企业及供港蔬菜货车的资料,以便在下一蔬菜批次输港时采取扣检,待化验结果满意,有关批次才获放行。

14. 食物安全中心有否监控香港出售水果的除害剂残余含量?
食物安全中心同样会透过恒常的食物监察计划,在进口、批发和零售层面抽查水果样本,作除害剂残余的检测,以确保在市面出售的水果是安全及适宜供人食用。

15.为何政府与其他团体化验食物内除害剂残余含量的结果会有差别?
食物安全中心是按照食品法典委员会建议的除害剂残余测试方法进行化验。例如在测试叶菜时,食物安全中心是采用除去腐烂或枯萎菜叶后的整个蔬菜样本作化验。如测试方法只包括蔬菜的一部分,例如菜叶或番茄等果菜的外皮,所得出的结果便可能出现偏差,并不适宜与相关的标准作直接比较。

16.我可以怎样减低蔬菜中除害剂残余的含量?
你可在流动的清水下彻底冲洗蔬菜。在适当的情况下,可用干净的刷子刷洗表层坚硬的农产品,以去除表面和缝隙间的污垢和污染物,如除害剂残余。

17.以流动清水冲洗还是用水浸泡更能有效清除蔬菜中的除害剂残余?
用流动的清水彻底冲洗蔬菜,能有效清除蔬菜表面的污染物,包括除害剂残余。至于浸泡蔬菜,虽然一些研究指出这有助减少除害剂残余,但蔬菜的营养素也会随之流失。由于近年蔬菜样本检出的除害剂残余含量偏低,其间也没有除害剂残余引致食物中毒的事件发生,中心在2017年首季不再建议以浸泡方式处理蔬菜,亦已获食物安全专家委员会通过。

18.浸泡或冲洗蔬菜会否导致蔬菜的营养素流失?
在浸泡蔬菜时,蔬菜的营养素(尤其是水溶性维他命)会流进水中。

19.我又应怎样处理水果,以减少摄入除害剂残余?
你可在流动的清水下彻底冲洗水果。至于硬皮的蔬果(如瓜类),在适当的情况下,可用清洁的刷子,把蔬果表面和缝隙间的污垢及污染物(如除害剂残余)去除。

20.应否使用蔬果专用的清洁剂清洗蔬果?
我们不建议使用肥皂、配方洗涤剂或农产品清洁剂等来清洗蔬果。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 01-06-2017