Frequently Asked Questions Print Friendly
Import/Export of Food

1. What is the regulatory control for import of food in Hong Kong?

In Hong Kong, the legal framework of food safety control is laid down in Part V of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132) and its subsidiary legislation. The basic requirement, as stipulated in section 54 of the Ordinance, is that no food intended for sale should be unfit for human consumption.

Importers can place an order for the main Ordinance and its subsidiary legislation with the Information Services Department, Publications Sales Section at Room 626, 6/F, North Point Government Offices, 333 Java Road, North Point, Hong Kong or through online service at the website http://www.bookstore.gov.hk. For enquiries, please call 2842 8844 or 2842 8845. Moreover, details of the food laws can also be browsed at website www.legislation.gov.hk.

The Food and Environmental Hygiene Department is responsible for implementing territory-wide policies of food safety control and enforcing the food legislation. To this end, part of its duties is to exercise the power provided under Section 62(1) of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132) to take food samples at points of entry to the territory for various kinds of tests, including chemical analyses and bacteriological or other examinations.

Food importers, through close liaison with exporting countries, are responsible for ensuring that food items they procure comply with the local legislation. To ensure hygienic standards of food, importers are encouraged to obtain health certificates issued by health authorities of countries of origin to accompany their imports certifying that the food products concerned are fit for human consumption.

There are specific legal requirements or administrative arrangements for the import of the following selected food items due to their perishable or high-risk nature -
(a) game, meat and poultry;
(b) milk and milk beverages;
(c) frozen confections; and
(d) marine products.

The Department has prepared individual leaflets advising on the proper procedures for importing the above food items respectively. Besides, import guides are also available at the Department’s website http://www.cfs.gov.hk/english/import/import_ifc.html.

The leaflets mentioned above and the application forms for importation of food can be collected at the Centre for Food Safety of Food and Environmental Hygiene Department at 43/F, Queensway Government Offices, 66 Queensway, Hong Kong or downloaded from the Department’s website http://www.cfs.gov.hk/english/public/public.html. Completed application forms can be sent in by mail, fax (fax no. 2521 4784), e-mail (e-mail address: fsc@fehd.gov.hk) or in person. Electronic submission of an application can also be made by means of e-form and details are available at http://www.cfs.gov.hk/english/public/public.html.

For further enquiries, please call the Department’s Health Inspector (Import/Export) Import Registration at 2156 3041 or 2156 3042; or 24-hour hotline at 2868 0000.

For import control and quarantine of livestock and plants, please browse the website of the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD) at
http://www.afcd.gov.hk/english/quarantine/quarantine.html

2. Does import of food into Hong Kong require prior approval?

Import requirements for food are imposed for public health reasons. Certain high risk imported food like game, meat and poultry, milk and milk beverages, frozen confections are governed by subsidiary legislation of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132). Import of game requires the prior permission of our Department and import of meat and poultry is confined to sources recognised by the Department. To facilitate release of consignments, importers are encouraged to provide health certificates issued by health authorities of exporting countries. Importation of foodstuffs other than the above mentioned high risk food does not require prior approval.

3. Is there any guideline for import of food into Hong Kong?

At present, the importation of foods other than milk, frozen confections including ice cream, meat, poultry and game does not require this Department's prior written permission or licence. Our Department has issued the following guidelines for the food importers:

  • Guide to Import of Mainland Chilled Chickens into Hong Kong
  • Guide to Import of Food into Hong Kong
  • Guide to Import of Milk and Milk Beverages into Hong Kong
  • Guide to Import of Frozen Confections into Hong Kong
  • Guide to Import of Game, Meat and Poultry into Hong Kong
  • Guide to Import of Marine Products into Hong Kong
  • Guide to Application for Import Licence for Frozen Meat, Chilled Meat, Frozen Poultry and Chilled Poultry
  • A Guide to Application for Health Certificate for Foods of Animal Origin
  • Monitoring Pesticides Residues in Food

The above guidelines are available at http://www.cfs.gov.hk/english/import/import_ifc.html.

In addition, food trades are advised that all foods for sale in Hong Kong, whether imported or locally produced, shall comply with Part V (Food and Drugs) of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132) and its subsidiary legislation, and that they shall be fit for human consumption. It is recommended that every imported consignment of the food to be accompanied by a health certificate issued by the relevant health authority of the country of origin certifying that the food product is fit for human consumption.

Back  Back to Top
 
2007 copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date : 18-09-2012

常见的问题 友善列印
食物进/出口事宜

1.进口香港的食物受什么法例规管?

在香港,用以规管食物安全的法律条文载于《公众卫生及市政条例》(第132章)第V部及该条例的附属法例。该条例第54条订明有关食物安全的基本规定,即不得出售不宜供人食用的食物。

进口商可于香港北角渣华道333号北角政府合署6楼626室政府新闻处刊物销售小组或透过网上政府书店(http://www.bookstore.gov.hk)及热线 2537 1910订购该条例及其附属法例的文本。进口商也可浏览网站 www.elegislation.gov.hk ,参阅有关食物法例的详细条文。

食物环境卫生署负责实施全港的食物安全规管政策,以及执行有关食物的法例规定。食环署的工作,包括行使《公众卫生及巿政条例》(第132章)第62(1)条赋予的权力,在本港各进口地点抽取食物样本作各类的测试,包括化学分析及微生物检验。

食物进口商有责任与出口当地保持紧密联系,确保所采购的食物符合香港法例的规定。为确保食物卫生,进口商应先向来源地的发证实体申领卫生证明书,并随进口食物附上,以证明有关的食物适宜供人食用。

下列指定食物属容易变坏或高风险食物,进口时必须遵循特定的法例规定或行政安排:
(a)野味、肉类、家禽及蛋类;
(b)奶类及奶类饮品;
(c)冰冻甜点;及
(d)海产。

本署印制了多款单张,分别阐释进口上述各类食物的正确程序。此外,本署网页也载有相关的进口指引(网址:http://www.cfs.gov.hk/sc_chi/import/import_ifc.html)。

进口商可于香港金钟道66号金钟道政府合署43楼的食物环境卫生署食物安全中心索取上述单张和进口食物的申请表,亦可从本署网页下载,网址是http://www.cfs.gov.hk/sc_chi/public/public.html

进口商可以把填妥的申请表以邮寄、传真(传真号码:2521 4784)、电邮(电邮地址:fsc@fehd.gov.hk)或人手的方式递交。如以电邮方式递交申请表,可利用电子表格,详情请浏览本署网页 http://www.cfs.gov.hk/sc_chi/public/public.html

如有查询,请致电本署卫生督察(进/出口)入口登记(电话号码:2156 3041或2156 3042)或24小时热线电话:2868 0000。

至于有关牲畜及植物的进口管制和检疫事宜,请浏览渔农自然护理署的网页http://www.afcd.gov.hk/sc_chi/quarantine/qua_ie/qua_ie.html

2.向香港进口食物是否须事先获得批准?

基于公众卫生理由,当局对进口食物施加规定。某些高风险进口食物,例如野味、肉类、家禽、蛋类、奶类、奶类饮品、冰冻甜点等均受《公众卫生及市政条例》(第132章)的附属法例规管。进口野味或蛋类须事先获得本署批准,而进口肉类、家禽或蛋类则仅限于本署所认可的来源地。为放行进口的食物,进口商须提供出口国家/地方的发证实体所签发的卫生证明书。如非进口上述高风险食物,则无须获得事先批准。

3.香港有没有制定进口食物指引?

目前,除非进口奶类、冰冻甜点(包括雪糕)、肉类、家禽、野味及蛋类,否则无须事先获本署书面批准或签发牌照。本署制定了下列的指引以供食物进口商参阅:

◆内地冰鲜鸡输入香港指引
◆香港入口食物指引
◆香港入口奶类及奶类饮品指引
◆香港入口冰冻甜点指引
◆香港入口野味、肉类、家禽及蛋类指引
◆香港入口海产指引
◆冷藏肉类、冰鲜肉类、冷藏家禽和冰鲜家禽进口证申请指引
◆申请动物制食品卫生证书指引
◆管制食物中所含残余除害剂
◆蛋类进口书面准许申请指引

上述指引载于本署网页http://www.cfs.gov.hk/sc_chi/import/import_ifc.html

此外,食物业界须注意,所有在香港出售的食物,不论是进口还是在本地生产,都须符合《公众卫生及市政条例》(第132章)第V部及该条例附属法例的规定,并且须适宜供人食用。每批进口食物应附有由来源地的发证实体所签发的卫生证明书,证明该些食物适宜供人食用。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 08-06-2017