Frequently Asked Questions Print Friendly

Food Labelling

1. What are the food labelling requirements for pre-packaged food in Hong Kong?

Reference shall be made to Schedule 3 to the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations (Cap. 132W), which generally states that unless there is exemption in the Regulations or otherwise stated, the following information should be marked in either English or Chinese language or in both languages on the label of prepackaged food:
(If Chinese and English languages are used in labelling, the food name and the ingredient list of the prepackaged food shall be labelled in both languages.)

(1) Name of the Food
The food name shall not be false, misleading or deceptive. It should also serve to make the nature and type of food known to the purchaser.

(2) List of Ingredients

(i) Preceded by an appropriate heading consisting of the words "ingredients", "composition", "contents" or words of similar meaning, the ingredients shall be listed in descending order of weight or volume determined as at the time of their use when the food was packaged.

(ii) Declare the presence of any of the eight substances, namely cereals containing gluten; crustacea and crustacean products; eggs and egg products; fish and fish products; peanuts, soybeans and their products; milk and milk products (lactose included); tree nuts and nut products; and sulphite in concentrations of 10 parts per million or more, which are known to cause allergy.

(iii) If an additive constitutes one of the ingredients of a food, it should be listed by both the functional class and the specific name or the identification number under the International Numbering System for Food Additives adopted by the Codex Alimentarius Commission.

(3) Indication of "use by" or "best before" Date
Use either the words "use by 此日期或之前食用" or "best before 此日期前最佳", as the case may be, followed by the date up to which specific properties of the food can be retained, to indicate the shelf life of the food.

(4) Statement of Special Conditions for Storage or Instructions for Use
If special conditions are required for storage to retain the quality or special instructions are needed for the use of prepackaged food, a statement should be legibly marked on the label.

(5) Name and Address of Manufacturer or Packer
The prepackaged food should be legibly labelled with the full name and full address of the manufacturer or packer, or otherwise in accordance with the requirements as stipulated in the Regulations.

(6) Count, Weight or Volume of Food
The food label should include the numerical count or net weight or net volume of the prepackaged food.

2. Whether the label of prepackaged food should be bilingual?

Regarding the appropriate language to be used in food labelling, paragraph 8 of Schedule 3 to the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations (Cap. 132W) prescribed that except as the situation quoted in the regulations, the marking or labelling of prepackaged food for the purposes of this Schedule shall be in either the English or the Chinese language or in both languages. If both the English and Chinese languages are used in the labelling or marking of prepackaged food, the name of the food and the list of ingredients shall appear in both languages.

3. What is the format to display "best before" or "use by" date on food label?

The "best before" (此日期前最佳) date shall be indicated by the words "best before" in English lettering and "此日期前最佳" in Chinese characters followed by the date up to and including which the food can reasonably be expected to retain its specific properties if properly stored, and a statement of any storage conditions which need to be observed if the food is to retain its specific properties until that date. The "use by" (此日期或之前食用) date shall be indicated by the words "use by" in English lettering and "此日期或之前食用" in Chinese characters followed by the date up to and including which the food, if properly stored, is recommended for use, and a statement of any storage conditions which need to be observed if the food is to retain its quality attributes until that date. You may wish to take reference from Paragraph 4 of Schedule 3 to the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations (Cap. 132W) for further details.

4. Is there any control on false labeling of food?

According to Section 61 of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132), if any person gives with any food sold by him, or displays with any food exposed for sale by him, a label, whether or not the same is attached to or printed on the wrapper or container, which-
(a) falsely describes the food; or
(b) is calculated to mislead as to its nature, substance or quality,
he shall be guilty of an offence. Upon conviction by the Court, the offender is liable to a maximum fine of $50,000 and 6 months imprisonment.

5. What action would be taken by the Department if a prepackaged food is not properly labeled?

Save with the exemptions for those items as listed in Schedule 4 to the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations (Cap. 132W), it is in breach of regulation 4 or 4A of the said Regulations. If there is sufficient evidence to prove any contravention under the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations (Cap. 132W), legal action will be taken against the offender. Upon conviction by the Court, the offender is liable to a maximum fine of $50,000 and 6 months imprisonment.

6. If a prepackaged food contains “soyabean” as an ingredient, which is known to be an allergen, are there any other alternative names to designate “soyabeans” ? Furthermore, is it acceptable to label “ 黃 豆 ” instead of “ 大豆 ”?

According to paragraph 2(4E) of Schedule 3 to the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations, Cap.132W, if a prepackaged food consists of or contains soyabeans, the name of the substance shall be specified in the list of ingredients. “Soybeans”, “soy”, “soya”, “soya beans”, “soy beans” or “Soyabeans” are all acceptable alternative names to designate “soyabeans” in the list of ingredients. The term “ 黃 豆 ” is commonly used in the trade and it is acceptable.

7. Is it necessary to label “Rice (contain gluten)” for the product of prepackaged rice?

Rice normally does not contain gluten. However, if the gluten is unintentionally introduced and not an intended ingredient in the rice, its presence shall be disclosed in the list of ingredients or in immediate proximity to the ingredients list. The statement should be in one of the following formats:
(a) "May contain traces of gluten";or
(b) "Contains traces of gluten "; or
(c) "Produced in a factory where gluten is also handled”.

8. If a prepackaged food contains soy lecithin, is it acceptable to label “soy lecithin” rather than “soy lecithin (soybeans)” or “soy lecithin (soybean product)” in the list of ingredients? Can either " 大豆磷脂 " or " 大豆卵磷脂 ” be used for the Chinese version?

Soy lecithin is regarded as a soyabean product. It is acceptable just to label “soy lecithin” instead of “soy lecithin (soyabeans)” or “soy lecithin (soyabean product)” in the list of ingredients. In addition, both " 大豆磷脂 " and " 大豆卵磷脂 ” are acceptable.

9. Is it acceptable to label “Lactose” alone instead of "Lactose (milk product)" in the list of ingredients to indicate this allergenic substance?

Both are acceptable.

10. Is it acceptable to specify an allergenic substance only once in the list of ingredients and not to repeat the same substance in the list. For example, for a milk product specified as “Chocolate Milk (milk, skim milk powder, non fat milk, cocoa butter, whey protein)”, is it acceptable not to specify “whey protein (milk product)” in the ingredient list? Or, if the ingredient list already specifies “fish meat”, is it acceptable not to specify “tuna oil (fish product)” in the same list?

As long as the name of each allergenic substance contained in the food is specified in the list of ingredients, it is considered that the requirement as prescribed in paragraph 2(4E)(a) of Schedule 3 to the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations, Cap. 132W has been complied with. It is acceptable to specify the name of an allergenic substance only once in the list of ingredients.

11. Is it acceptable to label the functional class of the additive, “Acid” ( 酸味劑 ) as “ 酸 ” in Chinese?

In accordance with paragraph 2(6) of Schedule 3 to the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations, Cap.132W, the Chinese character “ 酸 ” is not acceptable. The food trade should use “ 酸味劑 ” in Chinese according to the legislation.

12. A food additive may belong to a sub-class of a functional class, for example, texturizer is a sub-class of thickener. Is it acceptable to label the sub-class instead of the functional class of the additive in the list of ingredient?

According to paragraph 2(5) and (6) of Schedule 3 to the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations, Cap.132W, an additive constituting one of the ingredients of a food shall be listed by its functional class and-

(a) its specific name; or
(b) its identification number under the International Numbering System for Food Additives; or
(c) its identification number under the International Numbering System for Food Additives with the prefix “E” or “e”.

Hence, it is not acceptable to label a food additive by the sub-class.

13. If an ingredient, which can serve as an additive, is added to food, do we need to specify its functional class? For example, calcium carbonate is added to a food as an ingredient and does not serve as an additive in the food.

According to paragraph 2(5) and (6) of Schedule 3 to the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations, Cap.132W, an additive constituting one of the ingredients of a food shall be listed by its functional class and-

(d) its specific name; or
(e) its identification number under the International Numbering System for Food Additives; or
(f) its identification number under the International Numbering System for Food Additives with the prefix “E” or “e”.

As regards “additive”, it is defined under regulation 2 of the said Regulations. However, an ingredient of a food, which is not an additive, shall be included in the list of ingredients but there is no need to specify its functional class.

14. Is it acceptable to label “Flavour (Flavor)” or “Flavouring (Flavoring)” instead of “Flavour and Flavouring” as the functional class required under the new labelling legislation?

It is acceptable to label as “flavour (or flavor)”, “flavouring (or flavoring)” or “flavour and flavouring (or flavor and flavoring)”, whichever is applicable.

15. Is it acceptable to use Japanese or French to label a food product?

The languages used in labelling prepackaged food shall be English, Chinese or both languages in accordance with paragraph 8 of Schedule 3 to the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations, Cap.132W. However, if a prepackaged food is national or traditional to the country of its manufacture and is not generally manufactured in any other country, it may be marked and labelled in accordance with the said Schedule in the language of the country of its manufacture.

16. Are Japanese Kanji, for examples, “原材料名”,“賞味期限”, are considered as Chinese language used in the labelling of prepackaged food ?

Japanese Kanji such as “原材料名” and “賞味期限” cannot be regarded as Chinese language.

17. For single ingredient product such as tea bag, coffee, olive oil, is it acceptable not to provide the ingredient list? For example, a package of English Breakfast Tea Bags marked on the packaging that it contains a blend of Ceylon and Indian tea. Is it acceptable not to provide an ingredient list stating: Ceylon tea leaves and Indian tea leaves?

If any food contains more than one ingredient, it is necessary to specify all the ingredients in the ingredient list. In this example, an ingredient list is required.

18. Is it acceptable to use singular or plural form (e.g. soybean or soybeans, colour or colours, nut or nuts ) on the label?

It is acceptable to use singular or plural nouns on the label.

19. Is it acceptable to use capital letter or small letter (e.g. Nuts or nuts, Soy or soy) in labelling of a prepackaged food?

It is acceptable to use capital or small letter or both of them on the label.

20. In view of the discrepancies in the Chinese expression in some countries, is it acceptable to use “著色劑” instead of “色素” for colour and “西元年” or “公元年” instead of “年” for Chinese date format on the food labels ?

According to paragraph 2(6) of Schedule 3 to the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations, Cap.132W, colour should be labelled as “色素” instead of “著色劑”in Chinese. Also, according to paragraph 4(7)(c) of Schedule 3 to the same Regulations, “年” should be used as Chinese date format instead of “西元年” or “公元年”. Alternatively, “年(西元年)” or “年(公元年)” is acceptable.

21. When labelling the allergen tree nuts and nut products (木本堅果及堅果製品), is it acceptable to use “nuts” or “nut products” instead of “tree nuts”, and “堅果” or “堅果製品” or “果仁” instead of “木本堅果”? In addition, is it acceptable to use “hazelnut” and “almond” alone without specifying “tree nut” or “nut” after them?

It is recommended to use the terms “tree nuts”, “nuts” and “nut products” and their corresponding Chinese terms “木本堅果”, “堅果” and “堅果製品” though there is no objection to the use of the term “果仁” which is a common and usual name familiar to the consumers in Hong Kong.

Use of the terms “hazelnut”, “hazelnut (nut)”, “hazelnut (tree nut)”, “榛子(木本堅果)”, “榛子(堅果)” and “榛子(果仁)” are all acceptable. However, the use of the term “almond” or “杏仁” alone is not acceptable as the name itself does not contain the words “nut” or “堅果” and so it must be labelled as “almond (tree nut)”, “almond (nut)”, “杏仁(木本堅果)”, “杏仁(堅果)” or “杏仁(果仁)”.

22. To meet the labelling requirements of different countries, is it acceptable to use slash (/) to separate words of same meaning such as 麵粉/小麥粉 and 醬色/焦糖色素?

It is acceptable if slash (/) is used to provide alternative name(s) for a substance so as to give additional information to the consumers. It is also acceptable to put the alternative name(s) in brackets.

23. In food industry, it is common to use alternative ingredients to fulfill the same manufacturing formula due to seasonal availability of raw material or whatever reasons. Is it acceptable to use “or” or “and/or” to separate the alternative ingredients, for example, “cream or butter” ?

It is not acceptable to use “or” or “and/or” for indicating the presence of one of the different substances as declared.


Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date : 31-08-2010

常见的问题 友善列印

食 物 标 签

1. 在 香 港 出 售 的 预 先 包 装 食 物 须 符 合 哪 些 食 物 标 签 规 定 ?

有 关 这 方 面 的 资 料 , 可 参 阅 《 食 物 及 药 物 ( 成 分 组 合 及 标 签 ) 规 例 》 ( 第 132W 章 ) 的 附 表 3 。 附 表 3 大 体 上 说 明 除 非 获 得 该 规 例 豁 免 或 另 有 特 别 规 定 , 否 则 , 预 先 包 装 食 物 的 标 签 须 以 中 文 或 英 文 或 中 英 文 兼 用 列 出 以 下 各 项 资 料 :
( 假 如 所 加 上 的 标 签 中 英 文 兼 用 , 食 物 名 称 和 配 料 表 须 以 中 英 文 列 出 。 )


(1) 食 物 名 称
该 食 物 名 称 不 得 有 虚 假 、 误 导 或 诈 骗 成 分 , 并 应 让 消 费 者 充 分 了 解 食 物 的 性 质 和 类 别 。

(2) 食 物 配 料 表

(i) 须 冠 以 适 当 标 题 , 标 题 中 须 载 有 “ 配 料 ” 、 “ 成 分 组 合 ” 、 “ 内 含 物 质 ” 的 字 样 或 具 类 似 意 思 的 文 字 , 而 各 种 配 料 须 按 其 用 于 食 物 包 装 时 所 占 的 重 量 或 体 积 , 由 大 至 小 依 次 表 列 。

(ii) 如 该 食 物 含 有 已 知 会 引 致 敏 感 的 八 种 物 质 的 任 何 一 种 , 须 作 出 声 明 ; 这 些 物 质 包 括 : 含 有 麸 质 的 谷 类 ; 甲 壳 类 动 物 及 甲 壳 类 动 物 制 品 ; 蛋 类 及 蛋 类 制 品 ; 鱼 类 及 鱼 类 制 品 ; 花 生 、 大 豆 及 它 们 的 制 品 ; 奶 类 及 奶 类 制 品 ( 包 括 乳 糖 ) ; 木 本 坚 果 及 坚 果 制 品 ; 以 及 浓 度 达 到 或 超 过 百 万 分 之 十 的 亚 硫 酸 盐 。

(iii) 添 加 剂 如 构 成 食 物 的 配 料 , 须 列 明 该 添 加 剂 的 作 用 类 别 及 其 本 身 所 用 名 称 , 或 它 在 食 品 法 典 委 员 会 采 用 的 食 物 添 加 剂 国 际 编 码 系 统 中 的 识 别 编 号 。


(3) “ 此 日 期 或 之 前 食 用 ” 或 “ 此 日 期 前 最 佳 ” 日 期 的 说 明
须 根 据 情 况 标 示 中 英 文 “ 此 日 期 或 之 前 食 用 (use by) ” 或 “ 此 日 期 前 最 佳 (best before) ” 字 句 , 并 在 旁 列 出 在 该 日 之 前 食 物 能 保 存 其 特 质 的 日 期 , 让 消 费 者 知 道 该 食 物 的 保 质 期 。

(4) 特 别 贮 存 方 式 或 使 用 指 示 的 陈 述
如 该 预 先 包 装 食 物 须 以 特 别 方 法 贮 存 以 保 存 其 品 质 , 或 使 用 时 须 遵 从 特 别 指 示 , 须 在 标 签 上 清 晰 陈 述 该 等 方 法 或 指 示 。

(5) 制 造 商 或 包 装 商 的 姓 名 或 名 称 及 地 址
须 在 标 签 上 清 晰 列 明 制 造 商 或 包 装 商 的 全 名 及 其 全 址 , 或 符 合 规 例 内 所 订 明 的 规 定 。

(6) 食 物 的 数 量 、 重 量 或 体 积
须 在 标 签 上 列 明 该 预 先 包 装 食 物 的 数 量 或 净 重 量 或 净 体 积 。


2. 预 先 包 装 食 物 标 签 上 的 资 料 是 否 须 以 双 语 列 出 ?

有 关 食 物 标 签 上 使 用 适 当 语 文 的 问 题 , 《 食 物 及 药 物 ( 成 分 组 合 及 标 签 ) 规 例 》 ( 第 132W 章 ) 附 表 3 第 8 段 订 明 , 除 规 例 所 述 情 况 外 , 为 符 合 该 附 表 的 规 定 , 预 先 包 装 食 物 所 加 上 的 标 记 或 标 签 须 使 用 中 文 或 英 文 , 或 中 英 文 兼 用 。 如 预 先 包 装 食 物 所 加 上 的 标 记 或 标 签 中 英 文 兼 用 , 则 食 物 的 名 称 及 配 料 表 须 以 中 英 文 列 出 。


3. 在 食 物 标 签 上 展 示 “ 此 日 期 前 最 佳 ” 或 “ 此 日 期 或 之 前 食 用 ” 日 期 须 依 照 什 么 格 式 ?

“ 此 日 期 前 最 佳 ” (best before) 日 期 须 以 中 文 字 “ 此 日 期 前 最 佳 ” 及 英 文 字 “ best before ” 说 明 , 并 在 旁 列 出 如 加 以 适 当 贮 存 , 可 合 理 地 预 期 在 该 日 及 该 日 之 前 食 物 能 保 存 其 特 质 的 日 期 , 以 及 说 明 为 保 存 食 物 的 特 质 至 上 述 日 期 而 须 遵 照 的 贮 存 方 法 。 “ 此 日 期 或 之 前 食 用 ” (use by) 日 期 须 以 中 文 字 “ 此 日 期 或 之 前 食 用 ” 及 英 文 字 “ use by ” 说 明 , 并 在 旁 列 出 如 加 以 适 当 贮 存 , 食 物 被 推 荐 在 该 日 或 该 日 之 前 食 用 , 以 及 说 明 为 保 存 食 物 的 品 质 属 性 至 上 述 日 期 而 须 遵 照 的 贮 存 方 法 。 如 欲 获 悉 更 详 尽 的 资 料 , 可 参 阅 《 食 物 及 药 物 ( 成 分 组 合 及 标 签 ) 规 例 》 ( 第 132W 章 ) 附 表 3 第 4 段 。


4. 当 局 有 没 有 规 管 作 出 虚 假 说 明 的 食 物 标 签 ?

根 据 《 公 众 卫 生 及 市 政 条 例 》 ( 第 132 章 ) 第 61 条 , 任 何 人 如 与 其 出 售 的 食 物 一 并 给 予 下 列 标 签 , 或 在 其 为 出 售 而 展 出 的 食 物 上 一 并 展 示 下 列 标 签 :
(i) 对 食 物 作 出 虚 假 说 明 的 标 签 ; 或
(ii) 预 计 会 在 食 物 的 性 质 、 物 质 或 品 质 方 面 误 导 他 人 的 标 签 ,
则 不 论 该 标 签 是 否 附 于 或 印 于 包 裹 物 或 容 器 上 , 该 人 即 属 犯 罪 , 一 经 法 庭 定 罪 , 最 高 罚 则 是 可 被 判 处 罚 款 50,000 元 和 监 禁 6 个 月 。


5. 署 方 对 没 有 加 上 适 当 标 签 的 预 先 包 装 食 物 采 取 什 么 行 动 ?

除 《 食 物 及 药 物 ( 成 分 组 合 及 标 签 ) 规 例 》 ( 第 132W 章 ) 附 表 4 所 列 获 豁 免 遵 从 规 定 的 项 目 外 , 预 先 包 装 食 物 如 没 有 加 上 适 当 的 标 签 , 即 属 违 反 该 规 例 第 4 或 第 4A 条 的 规 定 。 假 如 本 署 有 足 够 证 据 证 明 有 关 人 士 违 反 该 规 例 的 规 定 , 便 会 对 其 采 取 法 律 行 动 。 违 例 者 一 经 法 庭 定 罪 , 最 高 罚 则 是 可 被 判 处 罚 款 50,000 元 和 监 禁 6 个 月 。

6. 如预先包装食物含有众所周知的致敏物“大豆”作为配料,是否有其他名称可代替“大豆”?可以“黄豆”代替“大豆”吗?

根据《食物及药物(成分组合及标签)规例》(第132W章)附表3第2(4E)段,如预先包装食物由大豆组成或含有大豆,“大豆”这个名称须在配料表中指明。“大豆”的英文名称包括“Soybeans”、“soy”、“soya”、“soya beans”,“soy beans”和“Soyabeans”,全部可用于食物的配料表中。业界通常称“大豆”为“黄豆”,两个名称都可使用。

7. 预先包装米是否须标签为“米(含有麸质)”?

一般而言,米并不含麸质。假如米含有麸质,即使并非刻意加入或作为配料,仍须在配料表内或贴近配料表的地方,以下列其中一种格式说明:

(a) “可能含有微量麸质”;或
(b) “含有微量麸质”;或
(c) “生产此食品的厂房亦处理麸质”。

8. 如预先包装食物含有大豆卵磷脂(soy lecithin),配料表上可否只标明为 “soy lecithin”,而不用标明 “soy lecithin (soybeans)”或 “soy lecithin (soybean product)”?中文名称是否可用“大豆磷脂”或“大豆卵磷脂”?

大豆卵磷脂(soy lecithin)被视为一种大豆制品,配料表可以标明为 “soy lecithin”,而不用标为“soy lecithin (soyabeans)”或“soy lecithin (soyabean product)”。至于中文方面,“大豆磷脂”或“大豆卵磷脂”均可。

9. 是否可在配料表中只将乳糖此致敏物标明为“乳糖”而无须标明为“乳糖(奶类制品)”?

标明为“乳糖” 或“乳糖(奶类制品)” 均可。

10. 是否可在配料表中指明一种致敏物质后,便无须在配料表中再指明同一种致敏物?例如指明为“朱古力奶(奶类、脱脂奶粉、不含脂肪奶类、可可脂、乳清蛋白质)”的奶类制品,是否可在配料表中不指明“乳清蛋白质(奶类制品)”?或如在配料表中已指明“鱼肉”,是否可在同一配料表中不指明“金枪鱼油(鱼类制品)”?

只要在配料表中指明食物中每种致敏物的名称,则会视作已符合《食物及药物(成分组合及标签)规例》(第132W章)附表3第2(4E)(a)节的规定。在配料表中只指明某种致敏物名称一次是可以接受的。

11. 可否以“酸”取代“酸味剂”来标示添加剂的作用类别?

根据《食物及药物(成分组合及标签)规例》(第132W章)附表3第2(6)段,以“酸”字标示是不能接纳的。食物业界应依照法例规定以“酸味剂”标示。

12. 食物添加剂可属于一个作用类别的次类别,例如调质剂是增稠剂的次类别。那么,是否可以在配料表中标示添加剂的次类别而不标示作用类别?

根据《食物及药物(成分组合及标签)规例》(第132W章)附表3第2(5)及第2(6)段,添加剂如构成食物的配料,须列明该添加剂的作用类别及:

(a) 其身所用名称;或
(b) 它在食物添加剂国际编码系统中的识别编号;或
(c) 它在食物添加剂国际编码系统中以“E”或“e”为词头的识别编号。

因此,以食物添加剂所属的次类别来标示是不能接纳的。

13. 假如在食物中加入的一种配料能同时用作食物添加剂,是否需要在配料表中说明该添加剂的作用类别?举例说,在食物中加入碳酸钙作为配料,但并非用作添加剂,是否需要指明?

根据《食物及药物(成分组合及标签)规例》(第132W章)附表3第2(5)及第2(6)段,添加剂如构成食物的配料,须列明该添加剂的作用类别及:

(a) 其身所用名称;或
(b) 它在食物添加剂国际编码系统中的识别编号;或
(c) 它在食物添加剂国际编码系统中以“E”或“e”为词头的识别编号。

上述规例第2条载述“添加剂”的定义。不过,非用作添加剂的食物配料须列载于配料表,但无须指明其作用类别。

14. 根据新的标签法例,以“调味料”或“调味剂”取代“调味料及调味剂”来标示添加剂的作用类别是否可以接纳?

“调味料”或“调味剂”或“调味料及调味剂”,都可用作标示添加剂的作用类别,视乎何者适用而定。


15. 产品标签上可否使用日文或法文?

根据《食物及药物(成分组合及标签)规例》(第132W章)附表3第8段规定,预先包装食物的标签须使用中文或英文,或中英文兼用。不过,如预先包装食物是制造国家的土产或传统产品,且通常不会在其他国家制造,则按照附表3所加上的标记及标签,可使用制造国家的语文。

16. 在标签预先包装食物时“原材料名”、“赏味期限”这些日文汉字是否当作中文?

日文汉字(例如“原材料名”和“赏味期限”)不能当作中文。

17. 关于含有单一种配料的产品(例如茶包、咖啡、橄榄油),可否不用提供配料表?举例说,英式早餐茶包的包装上已印上茶包含有锡兰茶和印度茶,可否不用提供配料表标明含有锡兰茶叶和印度茶叶?

食物如含有多于一种配料,便须在配料表中列明所有配料。就上述例子而言,必须提供配料表。

18. 标签上的英文字,是否可以使用单数或复数(例如:soybean 或soybeans;colour或colours;nut 或 nuts)?

标签上的英文字,可使用单数或复数。

19. 预先包装食物上的标签,是否可以使用大写或小写字母 (例如:Nuts 或 nuts;Soy 或 soy)?

标签上可使用大写或小写字母,或两者兼用。

20. 由于有些国家使用的中文用语并不一致,是否可在标签中采用“着色剂”而不用“色素”?又可否采用“西元年”或“公元年”而不用“年”作为标示中文日期的格式?

根据《食物及药物(成分组合及标签)规例》(第132W章)附表3第2(6)段,应采用“色素”而非“着色剂”。根据同一规例附表3第4(7)(c)段,应以“年”而非“西元年”或“公元年”标明年份,但亦可采用“年(西元年)”或“年(公元年)”。

21. 在标示木本坚果及坚果制品(tree nuts and nut products)这种致敏物时,采用“坚果”、“坚果制品”或“果仁”而不用“木本坚果”和采用“nuts”或“nut products”而不用“tree nuts”是否可以接受?此外,只标示“榛子”或“杏仁”而没有在之后列明“木本坚果”或“坚果”是否可以接受?

建议业界使用“tree nuts”、“nuts”及“nut products”,其相应的中文名称分别是“木本坚果”、“坚果”及“坚果制品”,但不反对采用“果仁”一词,因为本港消费者熟悉这一常用名称。

“hazelnut”、“hazelnut (nut)”、“hazelnut (tree nut)”、“榛子(木本坚果)”、“榛子(坚果)”及“榛子(果仁)”全部均可接受使用。不过,只标示“almond”或“杏仁”则不可接受,因为有关名称本身没有“nut”或“坚果”等字眼,故此必须标示为“almond (tree nut)”、“almond (nut)”、“杏仁(木本坚果)”、“杏仁(坚果)”或“杏仁(果仁)”。

22. 为符合不同国家的标签规定,使用斜线号(/)分隔意思相同的名词(例如“面粉/小麦粉”和“酱色/焦糖色素”)是否可以接受?

如以斜线号(/)列出某物质的别名,以便向消费者提供更多资料,是可以接受的。此外,以括号列出别名亦可以接受。

23. 在食物业中,基于原材料的季节性供应问题或各类原因,为遵照同一配方制造食物,经常会使用可互相替代的配料。采用“或”或“及/或”分开可互相替代的配料(例如“忌廉或牛油”) 是否可以接受?

使用“或”或“及/或”来标示含有所列出多种不同物质的其中一种是可接受。


上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 31-08-2010