Consumer Zone
Consumer Zone Email to Friend Print Friendly

Trans Fats in Infant Formulae

Recently, the media reported that some Mainland brands of infant formula were found to contain trans fats. Indeed what are trans fats and why do they appear in infant formulae?

Trans fats are unsaturated fats with at least a double bond in trans configuration. Trans fats in foods originate from three main sources: (i) bacterial transformation of unsaturated fats in the stomach of ruminants (e.g. cattle, sheep, goats); (ii) industrial hydrogenation (used to produce semi-solid and solid fats) and deodorisation (a necessary step in refining) of vegetable oils high in polyunsaturated fats; and (iii) during heating and frying of oils at extreme high temperatures.

Bacteria in the stomach of ruminants biohydrogenate some of the ingested unsaturated fats to trans fats. Therefore, trans fats can be present naturally in milk, cheese, butter, meat/meat products of ruminants, etc.. Overseas literature shows that dairy and beef fat typically contains around 3-6% trans fats (% of total fat).

The Codex Alimentarius Commission* (Codex) has stated that trans fats are endogenous components of milk fat. According to the Codex standard for infant formula, the content of trans fats in an infant formula shall not exceed 3% of total fatty acids.

To better protect the health of infants and young children, the Administration is currently drafting legislative proposals on formula products and foods intended for infants and young children under the age of 36 months. The legislative proposals comprise requirements on nutritional composition of infant formulae and nutrition labelling of infant formulae, follow-up formulae and other foods for infant and young children.

* The Codex Alimentarius Commission (Codex) was established in 1963 by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations and World Health Organization as an international authority to set food-related standards and guidelines.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 12-07-2013

消费者资讯天地
消费者资讯天地 寄给朋友 友善列印

婴儿配方奶中的反式脂肪

最近有传媒报道,内地数款国产婴儿配方奶被检出含有反式脂肪。究竟什么是反式脂肪,而反式脂肪为什么会在婴儿配方奶内出现呢?

反式脂肪酸属于不饱和脂肪酸,在结构上含有至少一个反式双键。食物的反式脂肪酸有三个主要来源: (i) 反刍动物 ( 如牛、羊、山羊 ) 胃内的不饱和脂肪酸经细菌转化而成; (ii) 多元不饱和脂肪酸含量高的植物油经工业氢化 ( 用以制造半固体及固体状脂肪 ) 及除臭 ( 精炼过程的必要步骤 ) 而产生;以及 (iii) 以极高温把油加热及煎炸而产生。

反刍动物胃内部分未吸收的不饱和脂肪,经细菌进行生物氢化作用,转化为反式脂肪酸。因此,反式脂肪酸可天然存在于牛奶、芝士、牛油、反刍动物的肉∕肉类制品等。外国资料显示,奶制品和牛的脂肪通常含有约 3-6% 反式脂肪 (% 以总脂肪计算 ) 。

食品法典委员会 * 指出,反式脂肪是牛奶脂肪中的内源性成分。根据食品法典委员会对于婴儿配方奶所定的标准,其反式脂肪含量不应超过总脂肪酸的 3% 。

现时本港正就拟供36个月以下婴幼儿食用的配方奶产品和食品草拟法例,规管范围包括婴儿配方奶的营养成分组合、以及婴儿配方奶、较大婴儿配方奶及其他婴幼儿食品的营养标签,以加强保障婴幼儿健康。

* 食品法典委员会于 1963 年由聯合国糧食及农业组织和世界卫生组织创立,是负责订定与食品相关的标准和指引的国际机关。

 

图
上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 12-07-2013